The Last Day (Hardback)
  • The Last Day (Hardback)
zoom

The Last Day (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 06/02/2020
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A post-apocalyptic thriller with real urgency and credibility, this electrifying debut from ‘QI elf’ Murray describes an immobile future Earth, with each side locked in permanent day and night. 

A WORLD HALF IN DARKNESS. A SECRET SHE MUST BRING TO LIGHT.

2059. The world has stopped turning.

One half suffers an endless frozen night; the other, nothing but burning sun.

Only in a slim twilit region can life survive.

In an isolationist Britain, Ellen Hopper receives a letter from a dying man.

It contains a powerful and dangerous secret.

One that those in power will kill to conceal...

The Last Day: an utterly original debut thriller, perfect for readers who loved Robert Harris' Fatherland, Emily St. John Mandel's  Station Eleven, and The Wall by John Lanchester.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781786331915
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 648 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 37 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Dark, believable and brilliantly written.' - Jenny Colgan

'A thrilling page-turner, and a reminder to treasure our sunsets and sunrises while we still have them. I couldn't put this book down!' - Christina Dalcher, author of VOX

'A stunningly original thriller set in the world of tomorrow that will make you think about what's happening today.' - Harlan Coben 

'I read this hungrily ... Its intelligence and bravura characterisation will have you turning page after page. A fabulous achievement.' - Stephen Fry

'Wonderful: boldly imagined and beautifully written - the best future-shock thriller for years.' - Lee Child

'To say it's gripping is an understatement - I cancelled all my weekend plans to finish it.' - Sara Pascoe

'In his fascinating debut, Murray has crafted something original ... an interesting new twist on a post-apocalyptic tale.' - Kirkus

'Downright impossible to stop reading. The science is believable, the near-future world feels as real as our own, the characters are lively, and the plot is suspenseful. A near-perfect alternate-future thriller.' - Booklist

'I loved the premise of this high-concept thriller ... a compelling read with some well-placed observations on the darkness of human nature and survival. The Last Day will keep you gripped to the very last page.' - C.J. Tudor

You may also be interested in...

The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
Nineteen Eighty-Four
Added to basket
Brave New World
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Fahrenheit 451
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Station Eleven
Added to basket
The Road
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
VOX
Added to basket
VOX
£8.99
Paperback
Kindred
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Left Hand of Darkness
Added to basket
Parable of the Sower
Added to basket
The Children of Men
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Oryx And Crake
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Woman on the Edge of Time
Added to basket
The Wall
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Harvest
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
The End We Start From
Added to basket
Elite Reviewing Group

“A survivor story with a novel twist”

The world has slowed down and has finally stopped spinning which has left one half in permanent darkness and the other in permanent daylight. Although life can survive outside the dark zone there are very few decent... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 44

“Dystopian”

The author of this book is a talented writer. The idea was original and reflects current concerns. The plot develops very slowly and there are many inconsistencies both in the book itself and in the science behind... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36

“Compellingly Brilliant”

Thanks to Random House and NetGalley for an ARC exchange for an honest review.

I thought I'd given up on dystopian thrillers until I read Andrew Hunter Murray's epic, tour de force, 'The Last... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 32

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.