The Last Day (Hardback)
  • The Last Day (Hardback)
zoom

The Last Day (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 06/02/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A post-apocalyptic thriller with real urgency and credibility, this electrifying debut from ‘QI elf’ Murray elucidates an immobile future Earth, with each side locked in permanent day and night. Deploying subtle allegory and high concepts to shine a piercing light on contemporary society and politics, The Last Day is an intelligent, mature science fiction thriller for the ages.      

A WORLD HALF IN DARKNESS. A SECRET SHE MUST BRING TO LIGHT.

2059. The world has stopped turning.

One half suffers an endless frozen night; the other, nothing but burning sun.

Only in a slim twilit region can life survive.

In an isolationist Britain, Ellen Hopper receives a letter from a dying man.

It contains a powerful and dangerous secret.

One that those in power will kill to conceal...

The Last Day: an utterly original debut thriller, perfect for readers who loved Robert Harris' Fatherland, Emily St. John Mandel's  Station Eleven, and The Wall by John Lanchester.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781786331915
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 648 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 37 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Dark, believable and brilliantly written.' - Jenny Colgan

'A thrilling page-turner, and a reminder to treasure our sunsets and sunrises while we still have them. I couldn't put this book down!' - Christina Dalcher, author of VOX

'A stunningly original thriller set in the world of tomorrow that will make you think about what's happening today.' - Harlan Coben 

'I read this hungrily ... Its intelligence and bravura characterisation will have you turning page after page. A fabulous achievement.' - Stephen Fry

'Wonderful: boldly imagined and beautifully written - the best future-shock thriller for years.' - Lee Child

'To say it's gripping is an understatement - I cancelled all my weekend plans to finish it.' - Sara Pascoe

'In his fascinating debut, Murray has crafted something original ... an interesting new twist on a post-apocalyptic tale.' - Kirkus

'Downright impossible to stop reading. The science is believable, the near-future world feels as real as our own, the characters are lively, and the plot is suspenseful. A near-perfect alternate-future thriller.' - Booklist

'I loved the premise of this high-concept thriller ... a compelling read with some well-placed observations on the darkness of human nature and survival. The Last Day will keep you gripped to the very last page.' - C.J. Tudor

You may also be interested in...

The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Woman on the Edge of Time
Added to basket
Station Eleven
Added to basket
VOX
Added to basket
VOX
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Gather the Daughters
Added to basket
The Farm
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Kindred
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Nineteen Eighty-Four
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Divided Kingdom
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Road
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harvest
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Left Hand of Darkness
Added to basket
Oryx And Crake
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Children of Men
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Brave New World
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Fahrenheit 451
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The End We Start From
Added to basket

“It's all go after The Stop”

A classic sci-fi thriller formula: after a big disastrous event there's dodgy government, cover-ups, indoctrination and propaganda but The Last Day does it with a killer hook. It was both a bit Orwellian and also... More

“The World stops Turning”

The absolutely impossible happens. The earth stops rotating and causes day and night to be the same day in and day out all over the world. The cold spots are eternally cold and the warm spots always warm, possibly... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“A survivor story with a novel twist”

The world has slowed down and has finally stopped spinning which has left one half in permanent darkness and the other in permanent daylight. Although life can survive outside the dark zone there are very few decent... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.