The Last Concerto (Paperback)
  • The Last Concerto (Paperback)
zoom

The Last Concerto (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 22/08/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
The perfect summer read for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Dinah Jeffries

Will Alba find the music of her heart?

Sardinia, 1968.

When eleven-year-old Alba Fresu witnesses her father and brother kidnapped by bandits, her previously happy and secure family life is shaken to the core. The pair are eventually released, but the experience leaves Alba deeply disturbed, unable to give voice to her inner turmoil.
While accompanying her mother to cleaning jobs, Alba visits the villa of an eccentric Signora and touches the keys of a piano for the first time. She is transported to another world, one where she can finally express emotion too powerful for words alone.

She takes secret piano lessons and, against her parents' wishes, accepts a scholarship to the Rome conservatoire. There she immerses herself in the vibrant world of the city, full of heat and passion she's never experienced before - and embarks on an affair that will change the course of her life forever.

But Alba soon reaches a crossroads, and must decide how to reconcile her musical talent with her longing for love and family . . .

Praise for Sara Alexander:

`Will leave readers riveted until the explosive conclusion'
Publishers Weekly

`This enchanting novel is a delightful read, perfectly suited for a warm beach with a cold beverage. Readers who enjoy Adriana Trigiani's historical Italian family sagas will adore Alexander's debut.'
Booklist

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008273712
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 330 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Sara Alexander:

`Will leave readers riveted until the explosive conclusion'
Publishers Weekly

`This enchanting novel is a delightful read, perfectly suited for a warm beach with a cold beverage. Readers who enjoy Adriana Trigiani's historical Italian family sagas will adore Alexander's debut.'
Booklist

You may also be interested in...

The Butterfly Room
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Irish Princess
Added to basket
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Winter Orphan
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Love Letter
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The House Across the Street
Added to basket
Her Last Promise
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A Column of Fire
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Moonlight Over Mayfair
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Pearl Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Christmas Wedding
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Winter Soldier
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Spitfire Girls
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Corset
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Moon Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
TripFiction

“A masterpiece of a novel.... a must read for musicians and lovers of ITALY”

The Last Concerto is a great read. It is the story of Alba, a young girl from Ozieri in Sardinia, who wins a musical scholarship to the Academia of Santa Cecelia in Rome – much against the wishes of her parents. She... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.