Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Language of Journalism: Volume 1, Newspaper Culture (Paperback)
  • The Language of Journalism: Volume 1, Newspaper Culture (Paperback)
zoom

The Language of Journalism: Volume 1, Newspaper Culture (Paperback)

(editor)
£34.99
Paperback 478 Pages / Published: 16/04/2018
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

The newspaper is to the twentieth century what the novel was for the nineteenth century: the expression of popular sentiment. In the first of a three-volume study of journalism and what it has meant as a source of knowledge and as a mechanism for orchestrating mass ideology, Melvin J. Lasky provides a major overview. His research runs the gamut of material found in newspapers, from the trivial to the profound, from pseudo-science to habits of solid investigation.

The volume is divided into four parts. The first attacks deficiencies in grammar and syntax with examples from newspapers and magazines drawn from the German as well as English-language press. The second examines the key issues of journalism: accuracy and authenticity. Lasky provides an especially acute account of differences between active literacy and passive viewing, or the relationship of word and picture in defining authenticity.

The third part emphasizes the problem of bias in everything from racial reporting to cultural correctness. This is the first systematic attempt to study racial nomenclature, identity-labeling, and literary discrimination. Lasky follows closely the model set by George Orwell a half century earlier. The final section of the work covers the competition between popular media and the redefinition of pornography and its language. The volume closes with an examination of how the popular culture both influenced and was influential upon literary titans like Hemingway, Lawrence, and Tynan.

Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
ISBN: 9781138516182
Number of pages: 478
Weight: 907 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"Editor of Encounter's for 31 years and an idiosyncratic critic, Lasky cares about language use and details its erosion in a meticulous review of US newspapers... Lasky discusses how newspapers overuse split infinitives, profanity, poor grammar, and truncated sentences... Lasky's abundant examples of transgressions suggest journalistic imprecision, indolence, and a degree of malpractice. Entertaining, erudite, well annotated, and exceptionally well written, this is neither a memoir by a veteran journalist, e.g., in the style of Max Frankel's The Times of My Life or My Life at The Times (CH, Oct'99), nor academic journalism criticism. As a commentator, Lasky is more in the tradition of Edmund Wilson, H.L. Mencken, and E.B. White. Recommended for libraries supporting English and literary criticism as well as journalism."

--R. A. Logan, Choice

"Hugely enjoyable--and valuable. I dropped everything else to read it. A treasure..."

--Charles Wheeler, senior foreign correspondent, the BBC


"Editor of Encounter's for 31 years and an idiosyncratic critic, Lasky cares about language use and details its erosion in a meticulous review of US newspapers... Lasky discusses how newspapers overuse split infinitives, profanity, poor grammar, and truncated sentences... Lasky's abundant examples of transgressions suggest journalistic imprecision, indolence, and a degree of malpractice. Entertaining, erudite, well annotated, and exceptionally well written, this is neither a memoir by a veteran journalist, e.g., in the style of Max Frankel's The Times of My Life or My Life at The Times (CH, Oct'99), nor academic journalism criticism. As a commentator, Lasky is more in the tradition of Edmund Wilson, H.L. Mencken, and E.B. White. Recommended for libraries supporting English and literary criticism as well as journalism."

--R. A. Logan, Choice

"Hugely enjoyable--and valuable. I dropped everything else to read it. A treasure..."

--Charles Wheeler, senior foreign correspondent, the BBC


-Editor of Encounter's for 31 years and an idiosyncratic critic, Lasky cares about language use and details its erosion in a meticulous review of US newspapers... Lasky discusses how newspapers overuse split infinitives, profanity, poor grammar, and truncated sentences... Lasky's abundant examples of transgressions suggest journalistic imprecision, indolence, and a degree of malpractice. Entertaining, erudite, well annotated, and exceptionally well written, this is neither a memoir by a veteran journalist, e.g., in the style of Max Frankel's The Times of My Life or My Life at The Times (CH, Oct'99), nor academic journalism criticism. As a commentator, Lasky is more in the tradition of Edmund Wilson, H.L. Mencken, and E.B. White. Recommended for libraries supporting English and literary criticism as well as journalism.-

--R. A. Logan, Choice

-Hugely enjoyable--and valuable. I dropped everything else to read it. A treasure...-

--Charles Wheeler, senior foreign correspondent, the BBC

You may also be interested in...

Pursuit: The Memoirs of John Calder
Added to basket
The Ladybird Story
Added to basket
Self-Publishing For Dummies
Added to basket
Instead Of A Letter
Added to basket
A Companion to the History of the Book
Added to basket
Marvel Comics
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Chinese Publishing
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Max Perkins
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Publishing E-Books For Dummies
Added to basket
The Lonely Planet Story
Added to basket
The Book
Added to basket
£35.00
Hardback
The Content Machine
Added to basket
The Bookshop That Floated Away
Added to basket
The Unknown Unknown
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.