The Lake (Paperback)
  • The Lake (Paperback)
zoom

The Lake (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 18/03/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
The truth lies just beneath the surface...

Kate's world falls apart when her teenage son drowns in the waters by his school. She's convinced it wasn't just a tragic accident, but no one will listen.

Then, six years later, Kate unearths Michael's lost diary and realises she may finally be able uncover what really happened that night.

But as she delves deeper, she begins to realise that she didn't really know her son - or the people in his life - at all. And that, sometimes, secrets are better left submerged...

An absorbing, emotionally-charged and addictive page-turner that will keep you gripped into the dark hours, perfect for fans of Linda Green and Teresa Driscoll.

Readers love The Lake:

'Atmospheric, unsettling, and gripping, Louise is clearly a fresh new talent to the genre' Phoebe Morgan, author of The Babysitter

'One of the best debut novels I have read - compelling, claustrophobic and captivating' Katerina Diamond, author of The Heatwave

'An intelligent and thought-provoking story that combines psychological thrills with the heartfelt emotions of a grieving mother, with a great cast of characters, this book is highly recommended' Louise Douglas, author of The House by the Sea

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008403331
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Atmospheric, unsettling, and gripping, Louise is clearly a fresh new talent to the genre' Phoebe Morgan, author of The Babysitter

'One of the best debut novels I have read - compelling, claustrophobic and captivating' Katerina Diamond, author of The Heatwave

'An intelligent and thought-provoking story that combines psychological thrills with the heartfelt emotions of a grieving mother, with a great cast of characters, this book is highly recommended' Louise Douglas, author of The House by the Sea

'This was a great book to read, it had all the twists and turns in it which kept me guessing right until the end.' Reviewer

'A compelling emotional journey of a mother determined to get the truth. Absolutely amazing read, highly recommended.' Reviewer

'I stayed up all night to read this. I will need a lot of coffee soon. Help me.' Reviewer

'I am already eager from a new book from this author. She has been added to my auto buy list.' Reviewer

'The ultimate denouement is a breath-taking climax to an original and compelling read.' Reviewer

'The Lake easily made it onto my Loved list for 2021.' Reviewer

'Believable characters and author shows great insight into the tragic death of the young boy in the book.' Reviewer

'This was such a tense suspenseful book! It had me hooked from get go. The characters were raw... Felt what Kate was feeling and I just love that in a book!' Reviewer

'The plot develops beautifully, unfolding piece by piece and you really feel you're on the voyage of discovering, taking the highs and lows with her. Stunning and a book that will stay with me for a long time.' Reviewer

'I will be looking out for more of Louise's books as this one was a brilliant psychological thriller.' Reviewer

You may also be interested in...

The Passenger
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Passenger & Stella Maris: Boxed Set
Added to basket
Magpie
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
April in Spain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Over My Dead Body
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Whistleblower
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Stella Maris
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One of the Girls
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heights
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A Mother's Journey To Discover The Truth”

3.5 stars rounded up to 4

Kate's world falls apart when her teenage son drowns iin the waters by his school. She's convinced it wasn't just a tragic accident, but no one will listen. Six years later,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Stunning”

A thoroughly enjoyable and poignant read covering some very moving, controversial and sad themes. The main character is seeking to find answers about how her only son died six years previously whilst also coming to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Good story”

Thank you Netgalley for this ARC copy.

This one was a difficult one for me. The blurb and the premise of the story had me pressing request at high speed. Although the storyline did live up to most of my expectations... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.