The Ivy Tree (Paperback)
  • The Ivy Tree (Paperback)
zoom

The Ivy Tree (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 17/03/2011
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Mary Stewart, one of the great British storytellers of the 20th century, transports her readers to rural Northumberland for this tale of romance, ambition, and deceit - a perfect fit for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

'There are few to equal Mary Stewart' Daily Telegraph

'Mary Stewart is magic.' New York Times

Whitescar is a beautiful old house and farm situated in Roman Wall country. It will make a rich inheritance for its heirs, but in order to secure it, they enlist the help of a young woman named Mary who bears remarkable resemblance to missing Whitescar heiress, Annabel Winslow. Their deception will spark a powder-keg of ambition, obsession and long-dead love.

The ivy had reached for the tree and only the tree's upper branches managed to thrust the young gold leaves of early summer through the strangling curtain. Eventually the ivy would kill it . . .


'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent

'The Ivy Tree has the ideal thriller blend of plot, suspense, character drawing and good writing' Daily Express

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444720464
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 392 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The Ivy Tree has the ideal thriller blend of plot, suspense, character drawing and good writing * Daily Express *
Mary Stewart harvests a rewarding field. Her credible heroines get caught up in credible adventures; her place is deceptively gentle; her atmosphere perfect * Evening Standard *
She set the bench mark for pace, suspense and romance - with a great dollop of escapism as the icing * Elizabeth Buchan *
A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors. * Harriet Evans *

You may also be interested in...

The Darkest Day
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
Crisis
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Damaged
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
End Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Everything Is Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Wild Fire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Couple Next Door
Added to basket

Reviews

View all
Honore

“Convoluted and Satisfying”

I first read the heavily edited American edition, so to encounter the original British edition was sheer delight. Classic Mary Stewart, with deft interweaving of detail such as setting and character development with a... More

Paperback edition
5th May 2011
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.