The Invisible Guardian - The Baztan Trilogy 1 (Paperback)
  • The Invisible Guardian - The Baztan Trilogy 1 (Paperback)
zoom

The Invisible Guardian - The Baztan Trilogy 1 (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 28/01/2016
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Waterstones Thriller of the Month for April 2018

The bodies of those girls, almost still children, seemed to have been marked by a malign force, as old as the earth.

A killer at large in a remote Basque Country valley, a detective to rival Clarice Starling, myth versus reality, masterful storytelling: meet the Spanish bestseller that has taken Europe by storm.

The naked body of a teenage girl is found on the banks of the River Baztan. Less than 24 hours after this discovery, a link is made to the murder of another girl the month before. Is this the work of a ritualistic killer or of the Invisible Guardian, the Basajaun, a creature of Basque mythology?

30-year-old Inspector Amaia Salazar heads an investigation which will take her back to Elizondo, the village in the heart of Basque country where she was born, and to which she had hoped never to return. A place of mists, rain and forests. A place of unresolved conflicts, of a dark secret that scarred her childhood and which will come back to torment her.

Torn between the rational, procedural part of her job and local myths and superstitions, Amaia Salazar has to fight off the demons of her past in order to confront the reality of a serial killer at loose in a region steeped in the history of the Spanish Inquisition.

A visceral, graphic and relentlessly tense psychological thriller, The Invisible Guardian is perfect contemporary noir in the vein of Steig Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Confronting issues of sexual violence, power imbalance and the lasting impact of trauma, it’s combines strikingly relevant themes with page-turning precision. A striking new voice in crime fiction.

The Baztan Trilogy continues with The Legacy of the Bones and Offering to the Storm.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007525355
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Myth and reality blend in this sophisticated and razor-sharp thriller ... gritty, fascinating and compelling' - Steve Berry

'Combines singular characters and an eerily atmospheric setting' - Sunday Times

'...this is a well-written book for those eager to explore a little-known area of Spain, and should appeal to fans of Fred Vargas and James Oswald. The supernatural elements are handled with a light touch, and shouldn't put off more cynical readers' - Crime Fiction Lover

'An intriguing read - compelling and often dark' - Liz Loves Books blog

'Well-written and engaging' - Raven Crime Reads blog

'Has so many facets to it that it becomes utterly compelling' -
Publishing Perspectives

'An engrossing psychological thriller' - Publishers Weekly

'Exciting ... the level of sustained uncertainty is magnificently realized' - Library Journal

You may also be interested in...

Sleep No More
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Tombland
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nightfall Berlin
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dead If You Don't
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Panic Room
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
After the Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback

Reviews

View all
Vanessa at Doncaster

“You'll never see the ending coming!!”

The first of Redondo's Baztan Trilogy is compelling and gripping from the start. Although I found there to be several passages of unnecessary information or descriptions (some detail of minor characters that... More

Paperback edition
13th April 2018
Helpful? Upvote 8

“A bit disappointed ”

I was in search for a good crime/thriller book and the assistant in the shop said this would definitely be something to consider to I took it home and I read it in less than 24 hours!!!!

I couldn’t put the book down... More

Paperback edition
4th April 2018
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Already searching for more books by the same author!”

Waterstones Thriller of the month for April 2018.
Already searching for more books by the same author!
Love discovering a new author's work (especially if there is also a back list) rather than pacing for the... More

Paperback edition
11th April 2018
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.