• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The books you love, the emails you want
Opt in by 25 May or you'll stop hearing from us
REVIEW NOW
The Invisible Guardian - The Baztan Trilogy 1 (Paperback)
  • The Invisible Guardian - The Baztan Trilogy 1 (Paperback)
zoom

The Invisible Guardian - The Baztan Trilogy 1 (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99 £6.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 28/01/2016
  • Save £2.00
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Waterstones Thriller of the Month for April 2018

The bodies of those girls, almost still children, seemed to have been marked by a malign force, as old as the earth.

A killer at large in a remote Basque Country valley, a detective to rival Clarice Starling, myth versus reality, masterful storytelling: meet the Spanish bestseller that has taken Europe by storm.

The naked body of a teenage girl is found on the banks of the River Baztan. Less than 24 hours after this discovery, a link is made to the murder of another girl the month before. Is this the work of a ritualistic killer or of the Invisible Guardian, the Basajaun, a creature of Basque mythology?

30-year-old Inspector Amaia Salazar heads an investigation which will take her back to Elizondo, the village in the heart of Basque country where she was born, and to which she had hoped never to return. A place of mists, rain and forests. A place of unresolved conflicts, of a dark secret that scarred her childhood and which will come back to torment her.

Torn between the rational, procedural part of her job and local myths and superstitions, Amaia Salazar has to fight off the demons of her past in order to confront the reality of a serial killer at loose in a region steeped in the history of the Spanish Inquisition.

A visceral, graphic and relentlessly tense psychological thriller, The Invisible Guardian is perfect contemporary noir in the vein of Steig Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Confronting issues of sexual violence, power imbalance and the lasting impact of trauma, it’s combines strikingly relevant themes with page-turning precision. A striking new voice in crime fiction.

The Baztan Trilogy continues with The Legacy of the Bones and Offering to the Storm.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007525355
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Myth and reality blend in this sophisticated and razor-sharp thriller ... gritty, fascinating and compelling' - Steve Berry

'Combines singular characters and an eerily atmospheric setting' - Sunday Times

'...this is a well-written book for those eager to explore a little-known area of Spain, and should appeal to fans of Fred Vargas and James Oswald. The supernatural elements are handled with a light touch, and shouldn't put off more cynical readers' - Crime Fiction Lover

'An intriguing read - compelling and often dark' - Liz Loves Books blog

'Well-written and engaging' - Raven Crime Reads blog

'Has so many facets to it that it becomes utterly compelling' -
Publishing Perspectives

'An engrossing psychological thriller' - Publishers Weekly

'Exciting ... the level of sustained uncertainty is magnificently realized' - Library Journal

Fiction Book Club

Fiction Book Club

Stirling
Wednesday 23rd May 10:30 - 11:30

Our book club choice for May is the exciting Spanish thriller, The Invisible Guardian by Dolores Redondo. Refreshments are provided, all are welcome! Please speak to a bookseller for more details.

View

You may also be interested in...

I Know a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Magpie Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Love Like Blood
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Thirst
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
He Said/She Said
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Lying Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Word Is Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Late Show
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Friday
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Burial Hour
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Fallen
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Dry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Insidious Intent
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Vengeance in Venice
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Vanessa at Doncaster

“You'll never see the ending coming!!”

The first of Redondo's Baztan Trilogy is compelling and gripping from the start. Although I found there to be several passages of unnecessary information or descriptions (some detail of minor characters that... More

Paperback edition
13th April 2018
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Already searching for more books by the same author!”

Waterstones Thriller of the month for April 2018.
Already searching for more books by the same author!
Love discovering a new author's work (especially if there is also a back list) rather than pacing for the... More

Paperback edition
11th April 2018
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A bit disappointed ”

I was in search for a good crime/thriller book and the assistant in the shop said this would definitely be something to consider to I took it home and I read it in less than 24 hours!!!!

I couldn’t put the book down... More

Paperback edition
4th April 2018
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.