The Inverts (Hardback)
  • The Inverts (Hardback)
zoom

The Inverts (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 01/04/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A glorious queer Jazz Age novel, The Inverts fizzes with wicked wit and bohemian glamour as two gay friends embark on a ‘lavender marriage’ to allow them to maintain their illicit lifestyles.

1921: a boy, a girl, a moonlit midnight kiss.

A terrible, repulsive kiss.

Bettina and Bart have grown up as best friends, so surely they will end up together? After all, Bettina is young, rich, headstrong.... and gay. Bart is young, rich, charismatic... and also, definitely, gay. Any doubts are dispelled by, in short order: that ghastly kiss; a torrid encounter for Bettina in the school boiler-rooms; and an eye-opening Parisian visit for Bart.

Society will never stand for it. What else can they do but enter into a 'lavender marriage' and carry on indulging their true natures in secret? As the '20s and '30s whizz past in a haze of cigarettes, champagne and casual sex, Bart and Bettina have no idea that they are hurtling, via Hollywood and Egypt, Paris and London, towards tragedy and bloodshed...

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008365875
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 570 g
Dimensions: 227 x 159 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'This delicious romp is the sort of thing Nancy Mitford might have written if she'd been gay... wonderfully blithe, witty and moving.' - Rowan Pelling, Daily Mail

'I can't remember the last time I enjoyed a book so much. The Inverts is funny, filthy and phenomenally good - an exhilarating, extraordinary book, packed with dazzling dialogue, stiletto-sharp wit and a glorious serving of filth. It's like Sarah Waters and Alan Hollinghurst go to a party in Downton Abbey - and things get gloriously, hilariously, out of hand.' - Matt Cain

'A glorious celebration of queer friendship and all kinds of love. Funny, outrageous, heartbreaking and so much fun.' - Kate Davies, winner of the Polari Prize 2020

'Very funny and touching and quite filthy.' - Louisa Young, author of My Dear I Wanted To Tell You

'Filthy and hilarious, this is a gloriously naughty romp of a read that also has something serious to say about queer love. I didn't want it to end.' - S.J. Watson

'Perfect for fans of Tipping the Velvet and Gentleman Jack... a delicious and diligent piece of fiction that will provide you with enough great comebacks to last a lifetime... This is a delightful book I wish to fling at my friends with affectionate abandon.' - DIVA

'Bettina and Bart are not just larger-than-life - they are alive. By turns raucous and poignant, hilarious and shattering this is a wonder of a story. A lifelong friendship, warts-and-all, where the sparkling moments and the sad are told in a voice as irresistible as the pair themselves. I LOVED it.' - Jess Kidd

You may also be interested in...

Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Windsor Knot
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Utopia Avenue
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Because of You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Strawberry Thief
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Fabulous!”

An LGBT historical fiction kicking off in the roaring 20s, what could be better? I'm so glad to see historical fiction titles like this one being published and hope to see many more! As for this specific book, I... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Dan at Cribbs Causeway Store

“cocktails at the ready, darling!”

Bettina and Bart have always grown up as best friends.
They share the same dry sense of humour, they both hate exclamation points, and they despise earnest people.
Bettina prefers women. Bart prefers men.
Society will... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.