The Intoxicating Mr Lavelle (Hardback)
  • The Intoxicating Mr Lavelle (Hardback)
zoom

The Intoxicating Mr Lavelle (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 320 Pages
Published: 13/08/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Portraying an obsessional relationship at the heart of Grand Tour Europe, Blackmore’s sweeping queer romance is a masterclass in darkly seductive historical fiction. 

_____________________________________________
'Seductive, decadent, cruel and utterly thrilling - just like Horace Lavelle himself. This is The Talented Mr Ripley for the twenty-first century.' Emma Flint, author of Little Deaths

'Wildly entertaining and painfully heartbreaking ... Neil Blackmore writes with a fizzy wit that bounds his characters off the page.' Ben Aldridge

When Benjamin and Edgar Bowen embark on a Grand Tour of Europe, they are ready to meet People of Quality. They have trunks full of powdered silver wigs and matching suits, a hunger to experience the architectural wonders of Ancient Rome and an ability to quote Voltaire (at length). They will make connections and establish themselves in high society, just as their mother has planned.

But it soon becomes apparent that their outfits are not quite the right shade of grey, their smiles are too ready, their appreciation of the arts ridiculous. Class, they learn, is not something that can be studied.

Benjamin's true education begins when he meets Horace Lavelle. Beautiful, charismatic, seductive, Lavelle delights in skewering the pretensions and prejudices of their milieu. He consumes Benjamin's every thought.

Love can transform a person. Can it save them?
________________________________________________________
'An enjoyable dip into decadence.' Observer

'A fizzing, seductive queer romance.' i Paper

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781786332028
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 437 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 144 mm

You may also be interested in...

A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Azincourt
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Beginning of Spring
Added to basket
Clara Bow

“I defy you not to fall in love with Lavelle”

Having just this second finished this delicious, bittersweet novel, i feel that Mr Lavelle is going to be a character I'm going to remember for a long time to come.
This is a story that will tear at your heart... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 53

“Perfect for fans of The Binding”

This was advertised to me as being one to read if you had enjoyed Bridget Collins' The Binding, so since I loved The Binding I leapt at the chance to read this one! You can really get drawn into this story,... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 45

“Drama & Decadence”

The Intoxicating Mr Lavelle harks back to classic topics of social mobility and ambition, keeping up appearances and impressing people you resent and idolise in equal measure.
It's the story of 2 brothers on... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: