The Institution (Paperback)
  • The Institution (Paperback)
zoom

The Institution (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 432 Pages
Published: 14/09/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of The Sanatorium, Fields' pulsating thriller places a forensic profiler deep undercover in the world's highest-security prison hospital on the trail of a ruthless killer.

Dr Connie Woolwine has five days to catch a killer.

On a locked ward in the world's highest-security prison hospital, a scream shatters the night. The next morning, a nurse's body is found and her daughter has been taken. A ransom must be paid, and the clock is ticking.

Forensic profiler Dr Connie Woolwine is renowned for her ability to get inside the mind of a murderer. Now, she must go deep undercover among the most deranged and dangerous men on earth and use her unique skills to find the girl - before it's too late.

But as the walls close in around her, can Connie get the killer before The Institution gets her?

A claustrophobic, haunting crime thriller that will keep you up at night, perfect for those who couldn't put down The Sanatorium and Amy McCulloch's Breathless.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008533519
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

PRAISE FOR THE INSTITUTION: ‘Deliciously dark and utterly compelling – I couldn’t put it down.’ – Clare Mackintosh ‘Brilliant! The Institution is a harrowing, nonstop story that will grab you from the first page and not let go. You’ll consume it in one sitting.’ – Jeffery Deaver ‘Quite simply, wow! One of the best high concept thrillers I've read in forever. I raced through this riveting thriller in a single, breathless session of oh-my-God-what-is-going-to-happen-next.’ – New York Times bestseller Lisa Gardner ‘Absolutely AMAZING. Tense, engrossing and gripping with a truly unique main character.’ Angela Marsons ‘An intense, fast paced, locked room thriller. A brilliant concept which kept me guessing right until the end. Fields is at the top of her game.’ John Marrs ‘Dark and atmospheric with some brilliantly horrific characters. Compelling and unputdownable.’ – Catherine Cooper ‘A terrifying, shocking, pulse racing thriller. One of the best crime novels I've read in a long time.' – Jacqui Rose ‘Criminally compulsive, claustrophobic and captivating, The Institution is Helen Fields at her just-one-more-chapter best.’ – Neil Broadfoot 'Scary, tense and totally absorbing, I just couldn't put it down. Wonderful.' – Simon McCleave ‘A wonderful, compulsively gripping rollercoaster of a read.’ – Liz Nugent ‘A white-knuckle ride that is completely addictive. Chillingly effective.’ – B P Walter

You may also be interested in...

Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Talented Mr Ripley
Added to basket
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Kamogawa Food Detectives
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housemaid's Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Death in the Parish
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Square of Sevens
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Another great read from the great crime writer”

Helen Fields has done it again yet another page turner of a crime story. I have no idea how she keeps coming up with such great stories and characters but this one is so good. We are reintroduced to a couple of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Love all her books - just superb!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy - it is no secret that I am a big fan of Helen Field's books.
So obviously I started this off with the highest of expectations and she met them!
I have no... More

Hardback edition
9 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 12

“A tense, atmospheric read”

Wow, this is a very different and dark read compared to the author’s previous books. Talk about an opening chapter that just grabbed my attention and pulled me into the story immediately. I thought the authors... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: