The Inquisitor's Mark - Eighth Day 2 (Paperback)
  • The Inquisitor's Mark - Eighth Day 2 (Paperback)
zoom

The Inquisitor's Mark - Eighth Day 2 (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 03/12/2015
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The sequel to The Eighth Day, a fantasy adventure that VOYA called "unparalleled" and "absolutely necessary for middle grades," continues with higher stakes, greater world building, and more pulse-pounding action. With suspense, danger, and new discoveries around every corner, this fast-paced fantasy series that Kirkus Reviews raved was an exciting blend of "modern intrigue and ancient magic" will be a welcome addition for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter.

After an all-out battle in Mexico, Jax, Riley, and Evangeline have gone into hiding. There are still rogue Transitioners and evil Kin lords on the hunt for Riley, a descendant of King Arthur, and Evangeline, a powerful wizard with bloodlines to Merlin, in order to gain control over the Eighth Day.

So when Finn Ambrose, a mysterious stranger, contacts Jax claiming to be his uncle, Jax's defenses go up-especially after Jax learns that he's holding Jax's best friend, Billy, hostage. To rescue Billy and keep Riley and Evangeline out of the fray, Jax sneaks off to New York City on his own. But once there, he discovers a surprising truth: Finn is his uncle, and Jax comes from a long line of Dulacs-a notoriously corrupt and dangerous Transitioner clan who want Riley dead and Evangeline as their prisoner. And family or not, the Dulacs will stop at nothing to get what they want.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062272195
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 230 g
Dimensions: 194 x 130 x 19 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Combining modern intrigue and ancient magic, this second volume in what continues to be an inspired series does not disappoint. Jax is an endearing mix of heroic and awkward as he struggles with his new identity. An exciting blend of Arthurian legend and organized crime." -- Kirkus
"Blending Arthurian legend with action-packed adventure, the second in the Eighth Day series answers some questions but leaves plenty dangling for the next book." -- ALA Booklist
"The concept and the characters are strong, and should continue to entertain its audience who will now eagerly await book three." -- School Library Journal
"Ancient magic pairs nicely with modern intrigue. Complicated alliances and ruthless villains keep the pages turning. A promising start to a new trilogy." -- Kirkus Reviews (on The Eighth Day)
"[A] fast-paced, magical adventure. An unparalleled mix of evil villains, humor, and background that set this up for a likeable trilogy to be recommended for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. Absolutely necessary for middle grades." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (on The Eighth Day)
"Fascinating...Melds Arthurian legend into present day. Fast paced and exciting." -- School Library Journal (on The Eighth Day)

You may also be interested in...

The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The 1,000-year-old Boy
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Case of the Missing Treasure
Added to basket
The Squirrels Who Squabbled
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Where the World Ends
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Storm Keeper's Island
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket
Gangsta Granny
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.49
Paperback
My Arch-Enemy Is a Brain In a Jar
Added to basket
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Wonder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Peppa Pig: Peppa's Magical Unicorn
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Boy Underwater
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Tom Gates: Biscuits, Bands and Very Big Plans
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.