Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Innocents (Paperback)
  • The Innocents (Paperback)
zoom

The Innocents (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 344 Pages / Published: 05/07/2012
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

`As five we were mighty, the points on a star...Once we five joined, it was never boys against girls...Two of our triangles cut themselves off and ran away together, and we were never whole again. Never.'

`As five we were mighty, the points on a star...Once we five joined, it was never boys against girls...Two of our triangles cut themselves off and ran away together, and we were never whole again. Never.'

Years ago, they were the best of friends. But as time passed, they grew apart, became adults with families of their own, and began to forget about the past - and the terrible lies they shared.

But now Gordon, the youngest and wildest of the five, has died and the others are thrown together for the first time in years.

Could their long-ago lie be the reason for their troubles today? Is it more dangerous to admit to what they'd done or is it the strain of keeping the secret that is beginning to wear down on their souls.

Dark, provocative and beautifully written, Laura Lippman's genre defying novel will appeal to fans of Lionel Shriver, Megan Abbott and Kate Atkinson.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9781847561954
Number of pages: 344
Weight: 250 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

`The Innocents is compelling, suspenseful - everything a great thriller should be - but it is SO much more than that. That rarest of books - a nuanced and beautifully literate page-turner - this confirms what many of us have known for some time. Laura Lippman is not just the author of top-notch psychological thrillers, she is one of the finest writers in America. Simple as that.' Mark Billingham

`A story that ripples with menace, sorrow and the dark churn of adolescence-the prices families pay for secrets, the things we can't look at in ourselves.' Megan Abbott, bestselling author of The End of Everything

`Lippman delivers an emotionally complex drama that cements her reputation as one of the smartest crime writers around.' People Magazine

Lippman has long excelled at believable psychological suspense.' Guardian

`Exquisite as fine jewellery.' Lee Child

`A corker... engrossing.' Observer

You may also be interested in...

Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
A Discovery of Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heads You Win
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.00
Hardback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Death of the Fronsac: A Novel
Added to basket
The Moon Sister
Added to basket
£18.99   £12.99
Hardback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Librarian
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Bookread2day

“boring”

I brought two books by laura lippman. The first being What the dead know, which i found utterly boring so i gave up reading it. Then i started this book the innocents which i also found this book utterly boring and... More

Paperback edition
23rd October 2012
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Impossible to put down”

With intense characters who have fatal flaws, and a mystery death the book was intriguing from the beginning. Perfect for an afternoon read!! Would definitely recommend.

Paperback edition
14th August 2012
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.