The Incredible Talking Machine (Paperback)
  • The Incredible Talking Machine (Paperback)
zoom

The Incredible Talking Machine (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99 £6.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 24/06/2021
  • Save £1.00
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The author of former Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month The Vanishing Trick returns with another deliciously gothic tale, full of fantastical inventions and sinister figures in a grand theatrical setting.

Pull back the curtain and enter a world where mystery and magic take centre stage . . .

Twelve-year-old Tig works at the Theatre Royale, cleaning, selling tickets and doing anything else that is asked of her by her tyrannical boss, Mr Snell. But Tig will do whatever it takes to get closer to her dream - to become a Stage Manager and spend her days inventing new ways to imagine and build the intricate machinery and props that bring the exciting productions to life!

But when a strange new act - a talking machine - arrives at the Theatre Royale, it moves and behaves in a way that Tig just can't work out. It's as though it's alive somehow . . . And when the machine appears to be hiding a dangerous secret, Tig must race against time to solve the mystery, before everything and everyone she cares about is lost forever.

A gloriously gothic adventure from an original new voice in middle-grade.

A gloriously gothic adventure with a magical twist from an original new voice in middle-grade. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Sophie Anderson and Emma Carroll.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471190391
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Jenni Spangler's debut novel, The Vanishing Trick:

'A thrilling, original, evocative and eerie tale - I adored it!' - Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic

'A thrilling page-turner. Madame Pinchbeck is a gloriously Dickensian villain.' -  Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song

'Ghosts, gadgets, likeable villains and unlikely heroes: The Vanishing Trick is a dark and dazzling adventure.' - Emma Carroll, author of Letters from the Lighthouse

'A completely enthralling tale, oozing with atmosphere and originality.' - Catherine Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper's Island

You may also be interested in...

House of Hollow
Added to basket
Tom Gates 18: Ten Tremendous Tales (HB)
Added to basket
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Dragon Legend
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Isadora Moon Goes to a Wedding PB
Added to basket
Legendborn
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Shadow and Bone: Ruin and Rising
Added to basket
Dog Man 8: Fetch-22 (PB)
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Night Bus Hero
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

“A Victorian adventure story like no other!”

The theatre is Tig’s whole world, she’s a curious girl who wants more than being at the beck & call of the horrid Mr Snell. But chaos always seems to follow her around no matter how hard she tries to do the right... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.