The Incredible Talking Machine (Paperback)
  • The Incredible Talking Machine (Paperback)
zoom

The Incredible Talking Machine (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
£7.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 24/06/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

The author of former Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month The Vanishing Trick returns with another deliciously gothic tale, full of fantastical inventions and sinister figures in a grand theatrical setting.

Pull back the curtain and enter a world where mystery and magic take centre stage . . .

Twelve-year-old Tig works at the Theatre Royale, cleaning, selling tickets and doing anything else that is asked of her by her tyrannical boss, Mr Snell. But Tig will do whatever it takes to get closer to her dream - to become a Stage Manager and spend her days inventing new ways to imagine and build the intricate machinery and props that bring the exciting productions to life!

But when a strange new act - a talking machine - arrives at the Theatre Royale, it moves and behaves in a way that Tig just can't work out. It's as though it's alive somehow . . . And when the machine appears to be hiding a dangerous secret, Tig must race against time to solve the mystery, before everything and everyone she cares about is lost forever.

A gloriously gothic adventure from an original new voice in middle-grade.

A gloriously gothic adventure with a magical twist from an original new voice in middle-grade. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Sophie Anderson and Emma Carroll.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471190391
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Jenni Spangler's debut novel, The Vanishing Trick:

'A thrilling, original, evocative and eerie tale - I adored it!' - Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic

'A thrilling page-turner. Madame Pinchbeck is a gloriously Dickensian villain.' -  Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song

'Ghosts, gadgets, likeable villains and unlikely heroes: The Vanishing Trick is a dark and dazzling adventure.' - Emma Carroll, author of Letters from the Lighthouse

'A completely enthralling tale, oozing with atmosphere and originality.' - Catherine Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper's Island

You may also be interested in...

The World's Worst Pets
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Noah's Gold
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
Looshkin: The Maddest Cat in the World
Added to basket
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Boy Who Got Accidentally Famous
Added to basket
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Big Shot (Book 16)
Added to basket
Legendarium
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Wilder than Midnight
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Code Name Bananas
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
How I Became a Dog Called Midnight
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Magicborn
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Until the End
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Izzy S

“Ghostly mystery to transport you back in time.”

Evocative and mysterious, so descriptively composed, I could smell the musty costumes and gas lights as I followed Tig through the depths of the old theatre. Tig will be applauded by readers for her bravery, loyalty... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Do androids dream of electric sheep?”

Another brilliant book by Jenni Spangler! This story is full of peril, excitement and superb historical detail, just like her other book The Vanishing Trick.
Personally I found it slower at the beginning than TVT,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Super story and illustrations”

A lovely fantasy, gothic, historical MG story that will enthrall you and keep you reading.

Tig is the plucky, brave heroine of the story, who works in a theatre and is mesmerised by a strange gentleman who arrives... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.