The Incredible Talking Machine (Paperback)
  • The Incredible Talking Machine (Paperback)
zoom

The Incredible Talking Machine (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
£7.99
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 24/06/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The author of former Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month The Vanishing Trick returns with another deliciously gothic tale, full of fantastical inventions and sinister figures in a grand theatrical setting.

Pull back the curtain and enter a world where mystery and magic take centre stage . . .

Twelve-year-old Tig works at the Theatre Royale, cleaning, selling tickets and doing anything else that is asked of her by her tyrannical boss, Mr Snell. But Tig will do whatever it takes to get closer to her dream - to become a Stage Manager and spend her days inventing new ways to imagine and build the intricate machinery and props that bring the exciting productions to life!

But when a strange new act - a talking machine - arrives at the Theatre Royale, it moves and behaves in a way that Tig just can't work out. It's as though it's alive somehow . . . And when the machine appears to be hiding a dangerous secret, Tig must race against time to solve the mystery, before everything and everyone she cares about is lost forever.

A gloriously gothic adventure from an original new voice in middle-grade.

A gloriously gothic adventure with a magical twist from an original new voice in middle-grade. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Sophie Anderson and Emma Carroll.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471190391
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm

You may also be interested in...

Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Added to basket
Cluedle - The Case of the Dumpleton Diamond
Added to basket
Greenwild: The World Behind The Door
Added to basket
Wonka
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Överlöde (Book 17)
Added to basket
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: No Brainer (Book 18)
Added to basket
The World’s Worst Teachers
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Clockwork Conspiracy
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Added to basket
Lottie Brooks's Totally Disastrous School-Trip
Added to basket
Matilda
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Izzy S

“Ghostly mystery to transport you back in time.”

Evocative and mysterious, so descriptively composed, I could smell the musty costumes and gas lights as I followed Tig through the depths of the old theatre. Tig will be applauded by readers for her bravery, loyalty... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Eerie Mystery”

Fabulous mystery full of ghostly twists and turns through a haunted theatre and the streets of industrial Victorian Manchester.

Jenni is brilliant at invoking a truly Dickensian feel, which makes for a gritty period... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Do androids dream of electric sheep?”

Another brilliant book by Jenni Spangler! This story is full of peril, excitement and superb historical detail, just like her other book The Vanishing Trick.
Personally I found it slower at the beginning than TVT,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: