The Hunt and the Kill: save millions of lives... or save those you love most - A Casey Benedict Investigation (Hardback)
  • The Hunt and the Kill: save millions of lives... or save those you love most - A Casey Benedict Investigation (Hardback)
zoom

The Hunt and the Kill: save millions of lives... or save those you love most - A Casey Benedict Investigation (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 08/07/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
*A TIMES THRILLER OF THE MONTH* 'Heir to John le Carre' The Times 'Casey is fierce, obsessive and brilliant' Observer 'An action-packed rollercoaster of a read ... From the first twist to the heart-thumping finale, I was on the edge of my seat' Charlotte Philby, author of The Second Woman Save millions of lives... or save those you love most When acclaimed undercover journalist Casey Benedict is asked to interview a young woman with cystic fibrosis, the patient's doctor alerts her to the looming threat of antibiotic-resistant infections, tipping her off about a potential new wonder drug. If the rumours are true, this new antibiotic could save millions of lives, but no one wants to admit that the drug even exists. As Casey investigates, she follows the trail from the Maldives to a game reserve in Zimbabwe, using her undercover skills to probe the truth and find out why the discovery of this new drug is being covered-up. When tragedy unexpectedly strikes, Casey suspects that someone is trying to silence her, but she is not prepared to let the story drop, no matter how much danger she - or those she loves most - are put in. A searing, page-turning, pulse-racing thriller that sees Casey on a hunt around the globe as she pursues a major expose into pioneering medical research and drugs that could change the world. For fans of Mare of Easttown, Erin Brockovich, Mick Herron, Charlotte Philby and John le Carre. 'In the gutsy Casey, [the author] has created an unstoppable yet entirely credible modern heroine... Much of John le Carre's work was steered by his moral compass. Why should his heir be a man?' The Times The Hunt and the Kill is the third book by Holly Watt featuring Casey Benedict.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781526625588
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 710 g
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
She's on top form ... deftly mixing old-fashioned derring-do (characteristically, the secret files Benedict hunts for are paper ones) with an urgent investigation of cutting-edge medicine * Sunday Times *
The Hunt and the Kill is a terrific blend of old-school adventure and the thriller-with-a-conscience that has become Holly Watt's signature ... In the gutsy Casey she has created an unstoppable yet entirely credible modern heroine... Much of John le Carre's work was steered by his moral compass. Why should his heir be a man? * The Times *
[Holly's] affection for the weird world of newspapers comes through strongly, as does the sense that her plot is at least in part inspired by some of the stories and rumours she failed to stand up as a reporter - lucky us that she has decided to give them a new life as fiction * Evening Standard *
Watt writes with sparky intelligence * Literary Review *
A fine alchemical mix of great storytelling, strong characters and zeitgeisty themes ... The Hunt and the Kill is a superior adventure, gritty and grounded, with bags of atmosphere and plenty to think about ... Intelligent, pacy and ripped from the news * NB Magazine *
A page-turning thriller that hooks you in right from the start ... Casey Benedict is just such a refreshing character - there are so few books that focus on a strong, brave, determined woman and she is all that and more. Properly Intelligent, impeccably researched and utterly gripping - we can't wait for the next -- Ellery Lloyd
I adore the Casey Benedict series and this instalment is an action-packed rollercoaster of a read that is in turn tender and savage, and written with the insider knowledge of someone who truly understands the world of undercover reporting. From the first twist to the heart-thumping finale, I was on the edge of my seat and unable to look away -- Charlotte Philby
A taut, compelling, brilliant thriller that once again throws the reader into the dangerous and wonderful world of Casey Benedict. Totally engaging -- Gytha Lodge
Not straight espionage, but, like later le Carre, guided by moral imperatives, and the combination of a gutsy female protagonist with adventure scenarios is a savvy one -- Heirs to le Carre * The Times *
A thriller with a conscience featuring at its heart a gutsy yet credible modern heroine * The Times *

You may also be interested in...

Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sixteen Horses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Greenwich Park
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The Hunt and The Kill by Holly Watts”

My Recommendation
The Hunt and The Kill by Holly Watt is another in the Casey Benedict series and this is a totally engrossing and intriguing storyline. She is looking into antibiotics and whether there is another... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“The Hunt and the Kill by Holly Hunt”

The Hunt and The Kill by Holly Watt is another in the Casey Benedict series and this is a totally engrossing and intriguing storyline. She is looking into antibiotics and whether there is another Greg that is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Another author to watch out for”

Another great read from Holly Watt, if you haven't read her crime thrillers then you are missing out. Each one is it's own plot but for best results I would suggest reading them in order - so To The Lions,... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.