The House of Hidden Wonders (Paperback)
  • The House of Hidden Wonders (Paperback)
zoom

The House of Hidden Wonders (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 02/04/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Stunningly evocative of the murk and mystery of Victorian Edinburgh, Gosling’s subterranean thriller is a gothic rollercoaster ride featuring Arthur Conan Doyle and supernatural happenings in the tunnels that run below the city. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Bell and Katherine Woodfine, The House of Hidden Wonders tantalises and enthralls.

Zinnie and her sisters live in the murky tunnels beneath Edinburgh's Old Town. They keep out of the way of the authorities and remain undetected. Until, that is, rumours of a ghost bring unwanted visitors into the caverns they call home. Among them, a young Arthur Conan Doyle, keen to investigate, and MacDuff, the shady owner of Edinburgh's newest attraction, the House of Wonders.
Caught up in a world of intrigue and adventure, Zinnie seeks answers. But how can she discover what secrets lie in the House of Wonders while also protecting the sisters she holds so dear?
A thrilling historical adventure featuring mystery in the tunnels beneath Victorian Edinburgh, for fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine and Jennifer Bell.
Praise for THE GOLDEN BUTTERFLY:
"Touching on issues of class and gender, its main purpose is to bewitch and enthral." - Financial Times
"A perfectly paced and wonderfully written tale of mystery and magic." - Sinead O'Hart, author of THE EYE OF THE NORTH and THE STAR-SPUN WEB

Publisher: Little Tiger Press Group
ISBN: 9781788951906
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
PRAISE FOR THE GOLDEN BUTTERFLY: "Gosling's novel is an intricate puzzle, filled with cunning sleights of hand. While touching on issues of class and especially gender, its main purpose is to bewitch and enthral, which it does admirably all the way to its uplifting finale." -- Financial Times
PRAISE FOR THE GOLDEN BUTTERFLY: "A perfectly paced and wonderfully written tale of mystery and magic." -- Sinead O'Hart, author of THE EYE OF THE NORTH and THE STAR-SPUN WEB

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Gangsta Granny
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Awful Auntie
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Night Bus Hero
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
Tom Gates 18: Ten Tremendous Tales (HB)
Added to basket
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
Billionaire Boy
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Rooftoppers
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Spectacular School Trip (Really.)
Added to basket

“Victorian mystery”

‘The House of Hidden Wonders’ is set in Victorian Edinburgh and centres around three sisters: Zinnie, Sadie and Nell. They live in the abandoned tunnels under Edinburgh’s old town and do what they can to get by.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7
Chris Soul UK

“Full of mystery, spooks and historical intrigue. Brilliant!”

Last year, Sharon Gosling's 'The Golden Butterfly' was one of my favourites. With 'The House of Hidden Wonders' she has surpassed my expectations. This is a superb story full of mystery,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6
Amy Rush Da Silva

“Full of mystery and adventure!”

This was an exciting read that takes you on a great adventure through the streets of Edinburgh! I found it really easy to become absorbed in and the writing style had such a quirky, fun element to it that made me so... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.