Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
The House of Dust and Dreams (Paperback)
  • The House of Dust and Dreams (Paperback)
zoom

The House of Dust and Dreams (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 16/02/2012
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A house in ruins. An island at war. A love affair just beginning...

'This is one of the most fantastic books I have ever read' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

The House of Dust and Dreams is perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop's Cartes Postales from Greece and The Island, or Tracy Rees's, The Hourglass

***********************************

Greece 1936.

A young British diplomat and his wife have been posted to Athens. Hugh loves the life there but his spirited and unconventional wife, Evadne, finds it hard to fit in with the whirl of endless parties and socialising.

When Hugh is sent to Crete to sort out a problem, they stay in a rundown house owned by his family. His wife falls in love with the place and the people, and stays on when Hugh returns to his duties. As she tries to rebuild the ramshackle home, Evadne - known as Heavenly by the locals - makes firm friends with Anthi, a young woman from the village and Christo, the handsome and charismatic young builder.

But the dark clouds of war are gathering and the island will become a crucible of violence and bloodshed in the days to come. For Heavenly, her friends and family, it will be the greatest test they have ever known.

***********************************

Readers love The House of Dust and Dreams

'Absolutely loved this book. Full of the smells, sights and sounds of the real Greece...anyone with a tender heart and love of Greece will adore it' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'The House of Dust and Dreams - took my breath away' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409120131
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 134 x 200 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"An interesting story." --"San Francisco Book Review"


"An interesting story." "San Francisco Book Review""

You may also be interested in...

The White Princess
Added to basket
The Other Queen
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
London
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Wars of the Roses: Trinity
Added to basket
The King's Curse
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.