The House Guest (Hardback)
  • The House Guest (Hardback)
zoom

The House Guest (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99 £12.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 13/05/2021
  • Save £2.00
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
The perfect family. The perfect chance. The perfect lie.

A stunning novel about motherhood and betrayal, for readers who love Sarah Vaughan and Louise Candlish.

'Deliciously dark and totally twisted' ERIN KELLY

'Very acute on class, aspiration, women and status' SARAH PERRY, author of THE ESSEX SERPENT

Kate trusts Della, and Della trusts Kate.
Their downfall is each other.

When Kate moves to London after the disappearance of her sister, she's in need of a friend. A chance meeting leads Kate to Della, a life coach who runs support groups for young women, dubbed by Kate as 'the Janes.'

Della takes a special interest in Kate, and Kate soon finds herself entangled in Della's life - her house, her family, and her husband. It's only when she realises that she's in too deep that Della's veneer begins to crumble, and the warnings from 'the Janes' begin to come true.

Why is Della so keen to keep Kate by her side? What does Kate have that Della might want? And what really lies beneath the surface of their friendship?

A twisty psychological thriller for fans of Louise Candlish and Harriet Tyce.

'This twisty thriller is jam-packed with tense moments and a growing sense of unease' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

'Dark, smart and classy' GILLIAN MCALLISTER

'Northedge is good at portraying the distinction between the real insecurities of some young women and the minor problems of the privileged type' DAILY MAIL

'Charlotte Northedge turns the psychological thumbscrews with relish' THE TIMES

'Full of twists, The House Guest spirals towards its dark conclusion, wrong footing the increasingly uneasy reader at every turn.' THE OBSERVER

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008402532
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'This twisty thriller is jam-packed with tense moments and a growing sense of unease' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

'Northedge is good at portraying the distinction between the real insecurities of some young women and the minor problems of the privileged type' DAILY MAIL

'Charlotte Northedge turns the psychological thumbscrews with relish' THE TIMES

'Full of twists, The House Guest spirals towards its dark conclusion, wrong footing the increasingly uneasy reader at every turn.' THE OBSERVER

'The tension slowly builds up to a heart-racing end.' WOMAN'S OWN

'Northedge demonstrates a keen grasp of psychology, and her characters are drawn with suitable vividness, but the real achievement here is the slow-burning tension, building at an adroitly maintained pace - a pace, moreover, which is worthy of Alfred Hitchcock in his vintage years' BARRY FORSHAW, CRIMETIME

'This is ace. Very acute on class, aspiration, women and status and all those agonising negotiations and anxieties' SARAH PERRY, author of THE ESSEX SERPENT

'The House Guest is that delicious kind of novel, a slow-burn thriller that carefully draws the reader in, catches fire in the middle and burns with an intensity until the end' FIONA CUMMINS

'A dark and intriguing debut that simmers with tension and unease' LUCY CLARKE

'Dark, smart and classy - I was totally gripped' GILLIAN MCALLISTER

'A deliciously dark and totally twisted look at the lengths some people will go to project a perfect life' ERIN KELLY

'Compelling, dark and twisted!' KAREN HAMILTON

'A dark and addictive thriller with compelling characters and an original story exploring motherhood, obsession and lies' JENNY QUINTANA

'An electrifying debut' ROBIN MORGAN-BENTLEY

'Believable and chilling' ROZ WATKINS

'Unsettling' LOUISE JENSEN

'Complex and gripping, the darkest revenge-noir I've read since Gone Girl' POLLY SAMSON

You may also be interested in...

Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last Protector
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Feast
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
House of Correction
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Windsor Knot
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Postscript Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Kingdom
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A brilliantly captivating novel.”

I'm a big fan of this genre. This book really nails it. A pacy storyline, intriguing characters and some clever twists and turns. Loved the female leads, their complex relationships and how perfectly the author... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Unputdownable”

I didn't mean to start reading The House Guest. I just intended to read the first page to see what it is was like and come back to it later. Once I'd read that first page I couldn't put it down.
I was... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A gripping debut”

I couldn't put this down! When Kate moves to London and meets a life coach called Della, her life starts to unravel and she gets caught up in a situation that is completely out of her control.

I didn't see... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.