The House Between Tides (Paperback)
  • The House Between Tides (Paperback)
zoom

The House Between Tides (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99 £6.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 07/06/2018
  • Save £2.00
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Waterstones Scottish Book of the Month for August 2018

'There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel' - The Independent 

A captivating story of a crumbling estate in the wilds of Scotland, its long-buried secret and an enduring mystery that brings together two women’s lives divided by a century.

Following the death of her last living relative, Hetty Deveraux leaves London and her strained relationship behind for Muirlan house, her ancestral home in Scotland. Set out on a Hebridean island, reached by a tidal causeway, the house is now in ruins, left uninhabited for more than fifty years.

But as Hetty dives headfirst into the repairs, she discovers a shocking secret protected by the house for a hundred years.

With only whispered rumours circulating among the local villagers and a handful of leads to guide her, Hetty finds the power of the past is still affecting her present in startling ways.

The rugged Hebridean island of North Uist plays an integral part in anchoring two stories of love and loss across the divide of history. A haunting novel of uncovered stories, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees, Sarah Maine’s debut is imbued with a vivid awareness of the Scottish countryside and the ways wild and unfamiliar landscapes can alter human lives. .

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473683143
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 282 g
Dimensions: 203 x 153 x 26 mm

You may also be interested in...

The White Queen
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket

Reviews

View all
TripFiction

“Novel set in the OUTER HEBRIDES”

Hetty inherits a large old house in the Outer Hebrides and wants to turn it into a fine hotel. The bones found buried under the floorboards are the least of her problems, as hidden pasts and secrets gradually become... More

Paperback edition
8th January 2017
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.