The House at Riverton (Paperback)
  • The House at Riverton (Paperback)

The House at Riverton (Paperback)

24 Reviews Write your review
Paperback Published: 15/06/2007
  • Can be ordered from our supplier

Delivered within 5 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop

Check Marketplace availability

Summer 1924: On the eve of a glittering Society party, by the lake of a grand English country house, a young poet takes his life. The only witnesses, sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, will never speak to each other again. Winter 1999: Grace Bradley, 98, one-time housemaid of Riverton Manor, is visited by a young director making a film about the poet's suicide. Ghosts awaken and memories, long-consigned to the dark reaches of Grace's mind, begin to sneak back through the cracks. A shocking secret threatens to emerge; something history has forgotten but Grace never could. A thrilling mystery and a compelling love story, "The House at Riverton" will appeal to readers of Ian McEwan's "Atonement", L.P. Hartley's "The Go-Between", and lovers of the film "Gosford Park".

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9780330448444

You may also be interested in...

“a very good read”

This is true that this book holds a very good story. I highly recommend it.

Paperback edition
4th July 2013
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Beautifully written”

Beautifully written and very detailed, I felt fully immersed in the world that Kate Morton describes, and I thought she captured Grace's voice really well. I wouldn't say that the mystery element stands out... More

Paperback edition
22nd June 2013
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Memories Well-Kept”

I like Morton's writing style. I have only read two of her books, The House at Riverton and The Secret Keeper and it's easy to see her pattern. I like her description of life long ago, her narrating style,... More

Paperback edition
26th January 2013
Helpful? Upvote 5

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?

Review us on Trustpilot