We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

The House at Riverton (Paperback)
  • The House at Riverton (Paperback)

The House at Riverton (Paperback)

Paperback Published: 15/06/2007
  • In stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
Other editions:  
Summer 1924: On the eve of a glittering Society party, by the lake of a grand English country house, a young poet takes his life. The only witnesses, sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, will never speak to each other again. Winter 1999: Grace Bradley, 98, one-time housemaid of Riverton Manor, is visited by a young director making a film about the poet's suicide. Ghosts awaken and memories, long-consigned to the dark reaches of Grace's mind, begin to sneak back through the cracks. A shocking secret threatens to emerge; something history has forgotten but Grace never could. A thrilling mystery and a compelling love story, "The House at Riverton" will appeal to readers of Ian McEwan's "Atonement", L.P. Hartley's "The Go-Between", and lovers of the film "Gosford Park".

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9780330448444

You may also be interested in...

“Beautifully written”

Beautifully written and very detailed, I felt fully immersed in the world that Kate Morton describes, and I thought she captured Grace's voice really well. I wouldn't say that the mystery element stands out... More

Paperback edition
22nd June 2013
Helpful? Upvote 3

“a very good read”

This is true that this book holds a very good story. I highly recommend it.

Paperback edition
4th July 2013
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Memories Well-Kept”

I like Morton's writing style. I have only read two of her books, The House at Riverton and The Secret Keeper and it's easy to see her pattern. I like her description of life long ago, her narrating style,... More

Paperback edition
26th January 2013
Helpful? Upvote 3

Your review has been submitted successfully.

View your review