• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The House at Bishopsgate (Paperback)
  • The House at Bishopsgate (Paperback)
zoom

The House at Bishopsgate (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 08/02/2018
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
From the Sunday Times bestselling author comes a haunting, magical story set in 17th century London, perfect for fans of Jessie Burton and Elif Shafak 1611. Celia Lamprey looks out across the rooftops of Aleppo for the last time. After ten years living in the Orient, she and her husband, Paul Pindar, are setting sail for England - taking with them the legendary diamond, the Sultan's Blue, despite the curse that surrounds it. They arrive to find a country much changed; Bishopsgate, once surrounded by fields, is now a muddy thoroughfare choked with carriages - from which carpenters, gardeners and footmen descend, summoned to restore Pindar's great house to its former splendour. But all is not as it seems. Celia is frail, and the marriage childless. Between the couple lies a great, unspoken darkness. Now, as they await the arrival of Celia's friend Annetta from Venice, another woman, the alluring widow Frances Sydenham, becomes increasingly indispensable to the running of the household - and the happiness of its inhabitants. But who is this strange woman, and what are her real motives? Vividly evoking Jacobean society, The House at Bishopsgate is a sumptuous, richly woven story of marital secrets and sexual jealousy, from a master of historical fiction.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408843338
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 308 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Wonderfully sinister ... Hickman is a born storyteller. Hugely enjoyable * The Times *
Katie Hickman has created a world filled with love, intrigue, ambition and mystery. The House at Bishopsgate is a completely absorbing and delightful novel -- Amanda Foreman
Skill as a historian doesn't guarantee equal ability as a novelist, but Hickman's latest work of fiction balances knowledge, atmosphere and story beautifully * Mail on Sunday *
Hugely enjoyable ... Deeply satisfying -- Joanne Harris
Katie Hickman will take you to a magical land * Independent *
Hickman is entranced by her subjects and vividly conveys their charm -- Selina Hastings * Daily Telegraph *
A wonderful writer * Guardian *
A vibrant storyteller' -- Azar Nafisi, author of Reading Lolita in Tehran
Irresistible ... Elegant and addictively readable -- William Dalrymple

You may also be interested in...

Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Other Queen
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Bodies of Light
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Edge of Eternity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
Restoration
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A little historical jewel”

The House at Bishopsgate belongs to wealthy merchant Paul Pindar and it has sat empty for years while Paul and his wife Celia live in Oriental splendour in 17th century Aleppo where he is a representative of a... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
20th February 2017
Helpful? Upvote 50

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.