The Homes (Hardback)
  • The Homes (Hardback)
zoom

The Homes (Hardback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 26/05/2022
  • 10+ in stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Inspired by a true story, Mylet's sinister thriller of abuse and murder at a Scottish orphanage introduces two compelling juvenile sleuths and a twist-laden narrative of dark secrets and even darker motivations.

There were good people in The Homes. But there were also some very, very bad ones...

A thousand unwanted children live in The Homes, a village of orphans in the Scottish Lowlands on the outskirts of Glasgow. Lesley was six before she learned that most children live with their parents. Now Lesley is twelve, and she and her best friend Jonesy live in Cottage 5, Jonesy the irrepressible spirit to Lesley's quiet thoughtfulness.

Life is often cruel at The Homes, and suddenly it becomes much crueller. A child is found murdered. Then another. With the police unable to catch the killer, Lesley and Jonesy decide to take the matter into their own hands. But unwanted children are easy victims, and they are both in terrible danger...

Inspired by a true story, and introducing readers to the unforgettable voice of young orphan Lesley, The Homes is a moving and lyrical thriller, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Chris Whitaker, Jane Casey and Denise Mina.

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781788167048
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 520 g
Dimensions: 236 x 160 x 36 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Tense yet tender, as moving as it is gripping... set to be one of the Scottish crime books of the year. I loved it' - Chris Brookmyre

'An extraordinary story quite brilliantly told. Lesley is a wonderful character, and J.B. Mylet catches her voice perfectly. I found myself staying up long after lights out reading "just another chapter". And then another, and another' - James Oswald

'Heart-warming, heart-breaking and utterly compelling. I could not put this beautiful book down and it stayed with me long after I finished it' - Marion Todd, author of the Detective Clare Mackay series

'Amazing. I was hooked from the first page... A brilliant, must read story, all the more powerful because it's told through the bewildered logic of a child. I read it with an ache in my chest for all the Lesleys and Jonesys out there' - Anna Smith, author of the Kerry Casey series

You may also be interested in...

The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Narrow Door
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Murder Before Evensong
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Over My Dead Body
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Heights
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Falling
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
With A Mind to Kill
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Partisan
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

“Hugely captivating, authentic and enjoyable.”

The Homes is told in the voice of Lesley, a 12 year old child who lives in a children’s home where the living accommodation is based on a series of cottages each with its own house parents. In fact such a home did... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“The Homes by J.B. Mylet”

Lesley and Jonesy are twelve-year-old best friends who have been abandoned by their parents. They’re unloved. They live in the Homes, a purpose built village in Scotland, alongside nearly 800 other orphaned and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“As heartwarming as it is heartbreaking - so much more than a thriller!”

I absolutely loved this book, so easy to read and simply told from the perspective of a 12 year old girl. Raw innocence against a backdrop of unfairness and cruelty. The mystery element was great, I never saw the plot... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.