The Home (Paperback)
  • The Home (Paperback)
zoom

The Home (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 06/08/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Once inseparable, Joel and Nina haven't spoken in twenty years.

When Joel's mother Monika develops dementia, he has no choice but to return to his home town. Monika needs specialist care, and that means Pineshade - which also means Joel is going to have to deal with his one-time best friend, for Nina works there.

It's not long before Monika's health deteriorates - she starts having violent, terrifying outbursts, and worse, she appears to know things she couldn't possibly know. It's almost as if she isn't herself any more . . . but of course, that's true of most of the residents at Pineshade.

Only Nina and Joel know Monika well enough to see the signs; only by working together can they try to find answers to the inexplicable . . .

The Home is an eerie story about love, friendship and the greatest fear of all: losing control of ourselves . . .

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529402162
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 480 g
Dimensions: 234 x 154 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This elegant Swedish slow-burner is imbued with horror interwoven with regret, guilt, memory and shame. * Metro *
Good characters, clever story, plenty of scares. A great read. Admit yourself to The Home right now. * John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of Let the Right One In *
With The Home Mats Strandberg nails his position as one of the best Swedish horror writers * Skanska Dagbladet *
With a never-failing humanism and a deep understanding of the genre, The Home is the true proof that Sweden has a new horror king * City/SWE *
Mats Strandberg is marvellous when he lets us feel the approaching catastrophe: we feel an ice-cold chill . . . Psychology, guilt and painful secrets * Tara *
The Home gives me goosebumps along my arms all the way up my shoulders, and shows that there is no need for armies of aliens, zombies or blood-sucking foxes. A different voice is just enough * Expressen *
What a storyteller! The characters' failures, love stories, everyday matters, insights and shortcomings shimmer in his hands: the very ordinary life becomes a little bit more beautiful. And yes, the horrifying becomes much more horrifying than in reality as well. Although it is the shimmer that stays with you when the book is over * DAGENS NYHETER (Sweden's biggest morning newspaper) *
Very cinematic, and with characters who have real psychological depth. Mats Strandberg scares his readers in a most refined way. This is a brilliant story * SVT *
Strandberg's ability to capture everyday life and environments and to create personalities wins * Sveriges Radio *
Mats Strandberg is a literary cult waiting to happen: a must-read for fans of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist (Let the Right One In) * Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss and Hard Light *
What can make a horror story stand out from the rest of the pack is when It hits home in a personal way, when an unnatural twist could be a very close reality. That's the case in this Sweden-set story . . . This one will upset you while making you fill your pants * Weekend Sport *
A strange and satisfyingly creepy novel which unravelled in the most unique of settings . . . enjoyable, addictive, unique and chilling . . . this story dug right beneath my skin and remained there long after I turned the final page * The Book Babe *
Mat Strandberg doesn't disappoint, even though it was a bittersweet ending. This one's going to stay with me for a bit; not because of the horrors unknown, but for the horrors that lurk just around the corner * Nest of Books *
A strange and satisfyingly creepy novel which unravelled in the most unique of settings * THE BOOK BABE *

You may also be interested in...

The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dune
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Kingdom of the Cursed
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Sensor
Added to basket
£15.99
Hardback
Dune
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Fahrenheit 451
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Ninth House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Empire of the Vampire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

“Wow, absolutely amazing”

Wow, this was a fantastic book I couldn't put it down It kept me on the edge of my seat wanting to know what was going to happen next and I loved the twist at the end I did not expect that ending I would... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Horror Story.”

Joel and Nina haven't spoken in twenty years. They had once been inseparable.

Joel's mother has dementia and he had to return to his hometown to care for her. Monika needs specialist care which means Joel... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Enjoyable”

I enjoyed The Home, it was an interesting premise to have something unknown invading a residential nursing home. The very symptoms of dementia mean the residents could display a severe change in character or behaviour... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.