The History of Bees (Paperback)
  • The History of Bees (Paperback)
zoom

The History of Bees (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99 £6.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 29/03/2018
  • Save £2.00
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Waterstones Fiction Book of the Month for April 2018

In the spirit of Station Eleven and Never Let Me Go, this dazzling and ambitious literary debut follows three generations of beekeepers from the past, present, and future, weaving a spellbinding story of their relationship to the bees - and to their children and one another - against the backdrop of an urgent, global crisis.

That tiny hour was all we had, and in that tiny hour, perhaps I could make a difference. Sow a seed that would give him the opportunity that I myself had never had.

England, 1851. William is a biologist and seed merchant, who sets out to build a new type of beehive-one that will give both him and his children honour and fame.

United States, 2007. George is a beekeeper and fights an uphill battle against modern farming, but hopes that his son can be their salvation.

China, 2098. Tao hand paints pollen onto the fruit trees now that the bees have long since disappeared. When Tao's young son is taken away by the authorities after a tragic accident - and is kept in the dark about his whereabouts and condition - she sets out on a gruelling journey to find out what happened to him.

Haunting, illuminating, and deftly written, The History of Bees joins these three very different narratives into one gripping and thought-provoking story that is just as much about the powerful relationships between children and parents as it is about our very relationship to nature and humanity. Inexpressibly moving and utterly haunting, it’s a book about the very real threat of ecological disaster and our attempts to remain connected in a changing, ever-more chaotic world.

The debut novel of Norwegian author and screenwriter Maja Lunde, The History of Bees became a bestseller across Europe after it was published in 2015 and was the first debut to win the prestigious Bokhandlerprisen (Norwegian Booksellers’ Prize).

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471162770
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Fans of Cloud Atlas and Never Let Me Go will love The History of Bees' - Good Housekeeping

'Dystopian and electric, this book is set to blow minds everywhere' - Stylist

'Haunting and poignant ... an important and wonderful book' - Dave Goulson, bestselling author of Bee Quest

'Spectacular and deeply moving. Lunde has elegantly woven together a tale of science and science fiction, dystopia and hope, and the trials of the individual and the strengths of family' - Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author

'Such is the genius of debut novelist Maja Lunde that her tale of three eras-the long past, the tenuous present and the biologically damned future-is strung on the fragile hope of the survival of bees' - Jacquelyn Mitchard, New York Times bestselling author

'As a lover of honeybees and a fan of speculative fiction, I was doubly smitten by The History of Bees. Maja Lunde's novel is an urgent reminder of how much our survival depends on those remarkable insects. It is also a gripping account of how-despite the cruelest losses-humanity may abide and individual families can heal' - Jean Hegland, author of Into the Forest

'By turns devastating and hopeful, The History of Bees resonates powerfully with our most pressing environmental concerns. Following three separate but interconnected timelines, Lunde shows us the past, the present, and a terrifying future in a riveting story as complex as a honeycomb' - Bryn Greenwood, New York Times bestselling author

'Here is a story that is sweeping in scope but intimate in detail' - Laura McBride, author of We Are Called to Rise

'A brilliant and beautiful novel' - Jan Askelund, Stavanger Aftenblad

'She does everything right [...] She paints on a broad canvas, the topic is highly important and the language is both comprehensive and precise' - Geir Vestad, Hamar Arbeiderblad

'One can easily understand the buzz ...' - Maria Arolilja Ro, Adresseavisa

'The settings portrayed in the novel are impressively visual and each character is perfectly naturally rooted in his or her own era and environment' - Janneken Overland, Klassekampen

'Maja Lunde will reach a big audience with The History of Bees. (...) She has written a novel many will read in one go, and then sit down and think, about life, the world and the future. That is unique and it is very well done' - Annette Orre, littkritikk.no

'The History of Bees is a fascinating and brilliantly written novel that elegantly moves between the various stories and timelines' - Oddmund Hagen, Dag og Tid

You may also be interested in...

The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Standard Deviation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Heartburn
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Surprise Me
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Call Me By Your Name
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Beautiful Summer
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Immortalists
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Force of Nature
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Less
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Perfect blend of past, present and future...”

Three characters, three time lines , three lives are all linked by the fate of bees..

Blending historical, contemporary and future stories, this unusual novel, about the history and destiny of bees and bee keeping... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
10th September 2017
Helpful? Upvote 82
Emily at York

“Fantastic! ”

What a fantastic book. A mix of historical, contemporary and dystopian fiction that brings together 3 characters seamlessly who are separated by time, but beautifully interconnected.

It is not just a provoking... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
27th August 2017
Helpful? Upvote 38

“Saving bees saves us, too”

The History of Bees takes the reader on a journey through times when bees were plentiful (England 1852), in decline (Ohio, USA 2007) and nonexistent (China 2098). This story was powerful as it illustrated how much of... More

Hardback edition
10 similar books recommended
10th September 2017
Helpful? Upvote 37

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.