Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Hired Girl (Hardback)
  • The Hired Girl (Hardback)
zoom

The Hired Girl (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 01/10/2015
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Newbery Medalist Laura Amy Schlitz brings her delicious wit and keen eye to early twentieth-century America in a moving yet comedic tour de force. A humorous coming-of-age story that will appeal to fans of Anne of Green Gables and Little Women. Fourteen-year-old Joan Skraggs, like the heroines in her beloved novels, yearns for real life and true love. But what hope is there for adventure, beauty or art on a remote farm in Pennsylvania where the work never ends? Over the summer of 1911, Joan pours her heart out into her diary as she seeks a new, better life for herself - because maybe, just maybe, a hired girl cleaning and cooking for six dollars a week can become what a farm girl could only dream of - a woman with a future. Newbery Medalist Laura Amy Schlitz relates Joan's journey from the muck of the chicken coop to the comforts of a society household in Baltimore (Electricity! Carpet sweepers! Sending out the laundry!), taking readers on an exploration of feminism and housework; religion and literature; love and loyalty; cats, hats and bunions.

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406361407
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 645 g
Dimensions: 224 x 160 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The Hired Girl is a moving yet comic tour de force set in early 20th-century America. * The Bookseller Children's Buyer's Guide *
Through vivid language, historical details and emotional resonance, Schlitz creates a story that takes readers on Joan's 1911 journey where she contemplates class, feminism, literature and religion. * Inis Reading Guide *
...the strength of the novel lies in its dissection of the hurdles to be overcome in relationships that attempt to cross class boundaries, and the detail of the servant class's lack of privacy and autonomy. Joan/Janet is funny and fascinating [...] and is refreshingly real in her desire for new clothes alongside thirst for knowledge. * The Observer *

You may also be interested in...

The Midnight Gang
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Isadora Moon Makes Winter Magic
Added to basket
The Ice Monster
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Tom Gates 15: What Monster?
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Jolly Christmas Postman
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
Nevermoor: Nevermoor
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
What If It's Us
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Flamingo Boy
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Truth Pixie
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Dork Diaries: Birthday Drama!
Added to basket
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader

“Interesting Children's Novel!”

I just finished The Hired Girl by Laura Amy Schiltz. It is a children’s book that is written in the style of a journal/diary. Joan Skraggs is fourteen years old in 1911. She lives on Steeple Hill Farm with her... More

Hardback edition
9th September 2015
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.