The High Seas: Ambition, Power and Greed on the Unclaimed Ocean (Hardback)
  • The High Seas: Ambition, Power and Greed on the Unclaimed Ocean (Hardback)
zoom

The High Seas: Ambition, Power and Greed on the Unclaimed Ocean (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£22.00
Hardback 352 Pages
Published: 23/05/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Deeply researched and passionately argued, Heffernan's trenchant investigation into the exploitation of the world's oceans uncovers avarice, corruption and callous disregard on an immense scale.

The ocean covers seventy per cent of the surface of our planet, and two thirds of this lie beyond national borders. Owned by all nations and no nation simultaneously, these waters are home to some of the richest and most biodiverse environments on the planet. But they are also home to exploitation on a scale that few of us can imagine.

Here, industry and economic progress rule and lax enforcement and apathy are the status quo. Out of sight and often out of mind, a battle rages to control, profit from, protect, or obliterate the world's largest, wildest commons. Heffernan sets sail on a journey to uncover the truth behind deeply exploitative fishing practices, investigate the potentially devastating impact of deep-sea mining, and hold to task the Silicon-valley interventionists whose solutions to climate change are often wildly optimistic, radically irresponsible or both.

The result is a forceful and deeply researched manifesto calling for the protection and preservation of this final frontier - the last vestiges of wilderness on Earth.

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781788163576
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 238 x 164 x 36 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

Powerful reportage...awash with wonderful obscurities - Sunday Times

In her bold investigative book, Heffernan takes the reader on a journey like no other...a must-read book that will speak to everyone - Nature

A vital, fascinating, deeply researched exploration of Earth's last wilderness, owned by us all and by no one. This is powerful and urgent reportage that rips the veil of romanticism to reveal a vast world of criminal and dangerous enterprise accelerating beyond our shores, threatening us all. Shocking and starkly illuminating - a must-read. - Gaia Vince

With energy equal to her profound subject, Heffernan boards many ships and journeys from the Arctic to the Antarctic to bring us an illuminating portrait of a world we rarely see and barely understand - and of the hidden forces that threaten to wreck it - Robert Kunzig

On the surface the seas roll on as always. But below, much is changing. And much more is at stake as humans seek plunder and profit beyond the reach of nations. In The High Seas, Olive Heffernan ably takes us into the history, the present, and the future of this largest and most mysterious realm of the planet. - Carl Safina

An urgently needed wake-up call about the threat to some of the planet's most vital but often overlooked ecosystems: the deep oceans. Profoundly informed, passionately written and thrillingly adventurous, Heffernan's book is both a masterful study in natural history and a forensic survey of the forces and activities that could cause irreparable harm to these precious resources. - Philip Ball, author of CRITICAL MASS

This book is the essential guide to the half of our blue planet we call the high seas, written by someone who has done more than almost anyone on earth in the last few years to understand the problems we face, and the solutions that might be available. - Will McCallum, author & director of Greenpeace UK

Heffernan's reporting reveals our human imprint everywhere in the oceans, from the surface to the seafloor, by deciphering the geopolitics, economics, environmental sciences, and morality behind our use of the high seas - Helen Rozwadowski, author of VAST EXPANSES

The best introduction I have ever read to the biological, technical, and institutional issues connected with the High Seas and the exploitation of its resources. A gem of a book! - Daniel Pauly

In the vein of Ian Urbina's The Outlaw Ocean and Helen Scales' The Brilliant Abyss comes Olive Heffernan's The High Seas: an exploration of the breakneck industrialization occurring in the global ocean today. In clear prose, Heffernan investigates the ongoing experiments to bend the high seas to society's will as well as the unknown benefits and risks that may result. An important, timely book - Laura Trethewey, author of THE DEEPEST MAP

A vital book at a deeply contested moment in history for our oceans and humanity at large. With beautifully rendered portraits and a thoughtful examination of the science, Heffernan has accomplished something extraordinary: bringing sense and rhythm to the contested, perilous, and often chaotic realm of our most remote seas - Karen Pinchin, author of KINGS OF THEIR OWN OCEAN

Fast-paced, thoroughly reported and deeply disquieting - Science News

You may also be interested in...

The Earth Transformed
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
The Golden Mole
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Lost Rainforests of Britain
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Braiding Sweetgrass
Added to basket
Not the End of the World
Added to basket
Regenesis
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
How Trees Can Save the World
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Silent Spring
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Islands of Abandonment
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Hunt for the Shadow Wolf
Added to basket
Rooted
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Book of Wilding
Added to basket
The Physics of Climate Change
Added to basket
The Climate Book
Added to basket
£22.00
Paperback
The Uninhabitable Earth
Added to basket
How to Avoid a Climate Disaster
Added to basket
Fire Weather
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Richard Hayden in Rye

“Oceanic disaster”

In The High Seas, science journalist and former marine biologist Olive Heffernan takes a broad but deeply researched overview of the dangers facing the ecology of international waters around the globe.

Ranging from... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: