The Hidden Hut: Irresistible Recipes from Cornwall’s Best-Kept Secret (Hardback)
  • The Hidden Hut: Irresistible Recipes from Cornwall’s Best-Kept Secret (Hardback)
zoom

The Hidden Hut: Irresistible Recipes from Cornwall’s Best-Kept Secret (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£25.00
Hardback 256 Pages
Published: 03/05/2018
  • 10+ in stock
  • Free UK delivery

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Irresistible feasts to share and remember with family and friends from the ocean, fields and clifftops of Cornwall.

Simon Stallard set up The Hidden Hut to huge critical acclaim in 2011. An outdoor restaurant in Cornwall, tucked down on a remote sandy beach with no road access and completely off grid. He cooks up huge atmospheric open-air feasts for their diners throughout the year. In 2017, over 22,000 people applied for just 600 covers over their summer season, with tickets selling out within minutes of release each month, making it the hottest restaurant ticket in the UK.

Simon's cooking techniques have become iconic in Cornwall - from fire pits in the sand to wind-chime fish smokers and wood-fired rotisseries - his feasts are influenced by the smouldering fires and field-to-fork Cornish produce that fill his outdoor beach kitchen.

The Hidden Hut cookbook showcases inspiration for creating magical and memorable feasts. The recipes are adapted for the home cook and include delicious, achievable dishes for both small family meals and larger gatherings. Many of the recipes have the option to be cooked indoors conventionally or outdoors over fire.

As well as sharing the feasts that made them so famous, there are further favourite Hidden Hut recipes for filling your flask with soups, chowders and spiced dhals, alfresco summer salads, warming winter braises and homely Cornish treats.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008218010
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 970 g
Dimensions: 252 x 195 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

“The Hidden Hut has becomes the hottest ticket in the country… now he has a recipe book full of Hidden Hut greatest hits. ‘The idea is you can create your own experience when your mates come round.’ It sounds like the Hidden Hut’s ethos: ‘Cook it and they will come’.” Tony Turnbull, The Saturday Times “Full of those meals with lots of lovely seafood and Cornish produce thrown in. A beautiful book packed with inspiration for summer cooking.” BBC Good Food Magazine “The scarlet crab beckons you in and the book doesn’t disappoint. The recipes sound delicious and will be gracing my table soon. The photography and design are gorgeous.” Delicious magazine “Tucked away in deepest Cornwall overlooking stunning Porthcurnick Beach is a tiny seaside café, The Hidden Hut. Tickets for its sunset ‘feasts’ sell out in hours. If you can’t make it there, pick up the new The Hidden Hut cookbook, featuring many of its best recipes, such as crab rarebit and salt-baked lamb” Sainsbury’s Magazine Praise for The Hidden Hut restaurant:“They have transformed it from a snack stand into one of the hottest destinations in the county, and quite possibly the country.” Xanthe Clay, The Telegraph “An unforgettable eating experience” Rick Stein “The spirit of this place is infectious… I honestly can’t think of anywhere I’d rather be on a warm summer’s night” Jack Stein, The Guardian “The food at The Hidden Hut is as stunning as the scenery” Ben Fogle “The best beach cafe in the country” Oliver Peyton “What Simon doesn’t know about open-fire cooking isn’t worth knowing” Laura Jackson “Maximum flavour and minimum fuss.” Waitrose Magazine “Evoke the flavours of Britain’s most laid back coastline with this collection of recipes designed to bring people together.” Food and Travel Magazine

You may also be interested in...

The Classic Cocktail Bible
Added to basket
Cooking for Christmas
Added to basket
Recipes for Parties
Added to basket
Friends Around the Table
Added to basket
Friends, Food, Family
Added to basket
Nobu Miami: The Party Cookbook
Added to basket
Celebrate
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Five-O'-Clock Tea
Added to basket
£7.95
Paperback
Bake Me I'm Yours... Christmas
Added to basket
Party-Perfect Bites
Added to basket
Gather
Added to basket
£37.99
Hardback
Enchanted Christmas Tree In-a-Box
Added to basket
Eat, Drink and Be Merry
Added to basket
Oh Come All Ye Tasteful
Added to basket

“Authentic, delicious Cornish food”

A nice-looking, practical cook book that will appeal to fans of Jamie Oliver or Jimmy Doherty. There are some terrific recipes here, including lots that use Cornish produce like seafood, samphire, wild garlic and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: