The Haven (Hardback)
  • The Haven (Hardback)
zoom

The Haven (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 384 Pages
Published: 17/03/2022
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
A dark and glittering thriller for fans of Will Dean and Lucy Atkins from the author of The Cliff House…


‘Mesmerising, gripping and evocative’ Lisa Jewell



‘A dark delight … I absolutely loved it’ Eve Chase



‘A masterly unravelling of a utopian dream’ Elly Griffiths



‘Psychologically astute’ Tammy Cohen


It was meant to be paradise…

Winterfall Farm, spectacular and remote, stands over Bodmin Moor. Wanting an escape from the constraints of conventional life, Kit and Tara move to the isolated smallholding with their daughter, Skye, and a group of friends. Living off-grid and working the land, they soon begin to enjoy the fruits of their labour amid the breathtaking beauty and freedom of the moor.


At first this new way of life seems too good to be true, but when their charismatic leader, Jeremy, returns from a mysterious trip to the city with Dani, a young runaway, fractures begin to appear. As winter approaches, and with it cold weather and dark nights, Jeremy's behaviour becomes increasingly erratic. Rules are imposed, the outside world is shunned, and when he brings a second girl back to the farm, tensions quickly reach breaking point with devastating consequences…


The Haven is the compelling new novel from Amanda Jennings, author of The Cliff House.



Praise for The Haven:


‘Another mesmerising, gripping and evocative read from the Queen of Cornish Noir’ Lisa Jewell


‘A dark delight … I absolutely loved it’ Eve Chase


‘A masterly unravelling of a utopian dream that gradually becomes a nightmare. Lyrical descriptions and utterly believable characters’ Elly Griffiths


‘Engrossing, tense, psychologically astute. A gripping, emotionally taut exploration of idealism turned sour’ Tammy Cohen


‘Hypnotic’ Financial Times


‘A deliciously dark and tense exploration of human nature. There’s trouble brewing in paradise’ Emma Haughton


‘A beautifully written story with vividly drawn, believable characters I really cared about’ Sarah Stovell


‘Captivating and totally absorbing – this is the kind of pure escapism we need’ Susi Holliday


‘A compelling, brilliant story of the dark things we all bring to our visions of utopia’ Gytha Lodge

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008504076
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 580 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for The Haven: ‘Another mesmerising, gripping and evocative read from the Queen of Cornish Noir’ Lisa Jewell, bestselling author of The Night She Disappeared ‘An engrossing, immersive novel that swept me into the twisted utopia of Winterfall Farm. A dark delight that lingers long after the last page, I absolutely loved it’ Eve Chase, bestselling author of The Glass House ‘I loved this book, a masterly unravelling of a utopian dream that gradually becomes a nightmare. Lyrical descriptions and utterly believable characters mean that you take the journey with them’ Elly Griffiths, bestselling author of The Locked Room ‘Engrossing, tense, psychologically astute. A gripping, emotionally taut exploration of idealism turned sour’ Tammy Cohen, author of The Wedding Party ‘Hypnotic’ Financial Times ‘A deliciously dark and tense exploration of human nature. There’s trouble brewing in paradise’ Emma Haughton, author of The Dark ‘A beautifully written story with vividly drawn, believable characters I really cared about. I couldn't put the book down until I found out what happened to them’ Sarah Stovell, author of Other Parents ‘Captivating and totally absorbing – this is the kind of pure escapism we need right now’ Susi Holliday, author of The Last Resort ‘A compelling, brilliant story of the dark things we all bring to our visions of utopia. Beautifully written, and full of emotional punch, it drew me in right up until the very last page. I loved it!’ Gytha Lodge, author of She Lies in Wait ‘Hits that sweet spot between really in-depth characterisation and an absolutely gripping story’ C S Green, author of Sleep Tight ‘An addictive page-turner about building a utopian dream. Dark and disturbing but balanced with love and light. Her best yet’ Laura Kemp, author of Under a Starry Sky

You may also be interested in...

The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
My Father's House
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Betrayal
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Housemaid's Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
No One Saw a Thing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Real storytelling here!”

This is a great old fashioned read. There is a real believable story wound around a fascinating cast of characters. The story recounts the creation of a modern day commune by three friends and a group of like minded... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15
kendrafortune

“Very good”

A couple and their young daughter escape their grim city life to live in a commune with one of their old university friends and some of his . At first it seems like it is an idyllic sanctuary away from modern life,... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Cracking good read”

It is the end of the 90's. Kit & Tara with their daughter Skye hate the rat race, the damp bedsit & the demands of fitting in. Tara's parents cannot understand her dreadlocks & piercings &... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: