The Hanging Judge: A Novel - The Judge Norcross Novels 1 (Paperback)
  • The Hanging Judge: A Novel - The Judge Norcross Novels 1 (Paperback)
zoom

The Hanging Judge: A Novel - The Judge Norcross Novels 1 (Paperback)

(author)
£16.99
Paperback 376 Pages / Published: 19/12/2013
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
From the author of The One-Eyed Judge: A New York Times-bestselling novel about a federal death penalty trial from the perspective of the presiding judge.

When a drive-by shooting in Holyoke, Massachusetts, claims the lives of a drug dealer and a hockey mom volunteering at an inner-city clinic, the police arrest a rival gang member. With no death penalty in Massachusetts, the US attorney shifts the double homicide out of state jurisdiction into federal court so he can seek a death sentence.

The Honorable David S. Norcross, a federal judge with only two years on the bench, now presides over the first death penalty case in the state in decades. He must referee the clash between an ambitious female prosecutor and a brilliant veteran defense attorney in a high-stress environment of community outrage, media pressure, vengeful gang members, and a romantic entanglement that threatens to capsize his trial-not to mention the most dangerous force of all: the unexpected.

Written by judge Michael Ponsor, who presided over Massachusetts's first capital case in over fifty years, The Hanging Judge explores the controversial issue of capital punishment in a dramatic and thought-provoking way that will keep you on the edge of your seat. It is "a crackling court procedural" (Anita Shreve) and "gripping legal thriller" (Booklist) perfect for fans of Scott Turow.

Publisher: Open Road Media
ISBN: 9781480441941
Number of pages: 376
Weight: 513 g
Dimensions: 203 x 133 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"I thoroughly enjoyed The Hanging Judge. . . . Among its many virtues, the book will remind many readers that the judicial process is not infallible." -Former Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens

"There are plenty of surprises to keep readers turning pages. Ponsor gives readers a unique look into the workings of a courtroom. But more than that, he demonstrates a feel for how ordinary families are affected by the legal system. Ponsor's debut would make a great movie." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"That rare gem: a crackling court procedural with authentic characters and beautiful prose." -Anita Shreve, author of The Pilot's Wife

"A masterful work that took me inside the courtroom, behind the bench, and into the hearts and minds of a cast of unforgettable characters. . . . Thrilling, perfectly paced, beautifully written, witty, so very smart and so satisfying." -Elinor Lipman, author of Then She Found Me

"A marvelous entertainment, a page-turning mystery full of romance and humor, which takes us inside the fraught and rather secretive world of a judge's chambers. In the best way-that is, indirectly-Ponsor informs us about the facts that ought to inform debate on the death penalty. What impressed me most of all was the book's authority; it has the heft of authenticity." -Tracy Kidder, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Mountains Beyond Mountains

"Novels have shown us what it's like to be a juror, an attorney, even the defendant, but this is the first I've read that puts us up on the bench-a knowing, nuanced portrait of a judge and the often imperfect system he watches over." -Joseph Kanon, author of Istanbul Passage

"A compelling tale, with a cast of vividly drawn characters and a plot that twists and turns-it entertains, as a good novel should, but even better, it also informs, as only the best ones do." -Jonathan Harr, author of A Civil Action

"A debut that reads like the work of an accomplished master. A suspenseful page-turner written from the unique perspective not of a lawyer or defendant, but of the judge. I've never before read a book-either fiction or non-fiction-that conveys the dilemma of the death penalty with such a combination of sophistication and humanity." -Joe McGinniss, author of Fatal Vision

"Written with precision and heartfelt passion for the law, this riveting courtroom thriller brings the legal system to life. Filled with memorable characters, infused with a deep understanding of the death penalty and the complex interchange between crime, the police and the justice system, The Hanging Judge is an electric story, well told." -John Katzenbach, author of Hart's War

"Both an ode to the law in all its glory and a reflection on its sometimes tragic limitations, Michael Ponsor's The Hanging Judge will appeal to courtroom insiders as well as readers more generally drawn to a taut story well told. Set in western Massachusetts, at the center of the action is a series of trials, historic, present-day, and of the heart. The verdict: this debut author-a federal judge in his other life-is guilty of a tour de force and, we can only hope, the start of a rich new career." -Madeleine Blais, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of In These Girls, Hope Is a Muscle

"Ponsor is a talent to watch. . . . The Hanging Judge is that rarity: a story that grips the reader even as it teaches some fine points of criminal procedure." -The Washington Post

You may also be interested in...

Moskva
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Gray Mountain
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Winter of the World
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Hope Never Dies
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Cold Summer
Added to basket
The 7th Function of Language
Added to basket
Rogue Lawyer
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Inside Black Mirror
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The History of Bees
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Rooster Bar
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Camino Island
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
To Kill the President
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Whistler
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Darkness Around Her
Added to basket
You Don't Know Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The First Lady
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.