The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Paperback)
  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Paperback)
zoom

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Paperback)

(author), (author)
£8.99 £7.49
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 07/06/2010
  • Save £1.50
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

‘Shaffer's writing, with its delicately offbeat, self-deprecating stylishness, is exquisitely turned, bearing a clear debt to Jane Austen.’ – The Guardian

A war-ravaged Britain is emerging from the Second World War. It’s a new start too for writer Juliet Ashton, keenly seeking out material for a new novel. Fate, however, finds its way, as the chance find by a Guernsey native of a book belonging to Juliet opens a surprising door. Soon, what began as a writerly search for inspiration will result in changes she could never anticipate.

In the tradition of Helene Hanff’s 84 Charing Cross Road, Mary Ann Shaffer’s The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society has become, since its posthumous publication, one of the classic epistolary novels.

Set against a background of both physical and psychological recovery from the monstrosity of war, Shaffer ekes out a gentle but still penetrative comedy of manners, where the exchange of letters between two bibliophiles gradually draws together two different worlds.

Simultaneously, we learn of the deep and often terrible sacrifices made by a small island community that found themselves abandoned to the power of the Nazi war machine.

Mary Ann Shaffer, who was born in West Virginia and lived for most of her life in California, tragically passed away during the manuscript’s editing: the final drafts were completed by her niece Annie Barrows.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408810262
Number of pages: 256
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

‘[Shaffer] shows, in addition, an uncanny ability to evoke period, miming its manners and mannerisms - not only in the reminders of blitzed London but also in recreating a culture that reveres books… This is at the heart of the novel's golden comedy.’ – The Guardian

'Delightfully spirited and quirky novel-of-letters… You'd have to be pretty hard-hearted not to fall under its spell.' - Daily Mail

'What a gorgeous book - very touching and funny.' - Joanna Lumley

You may also be interested in...

Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Anatomy of a Scandal
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
After the Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
Crazy Rich Asians
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“could not get into it”

I have been told that this tome is a great read. I could not get into it...reason....it is told in the form of correspondance and I found this to and fro letter writing too distracting...sorry!

Paperback edition
16th October 2010
Helpful? Upvote 64

“Put Down Your Potatoes and Read This.....”

........because it is FANTASTIC. I read this on the train to London and nearly fell off the Tube because my eyes were so glued to it. Juliet Ashton sells some books and a man on Guernsey buys one of them - an... More

Paperback edition
5th February 2011
Helpful? Upvote 40

“Good book but poor service”

This is a good book which touchingly recounts life in Guernsey during the Second World War. I ordered it with two other books as a birthday gift for Kath. The book arrived OK. Instead of a map of Milan she was sent a... More

Paperback edition
7th March 2013
Helpful? Upvote 29

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.