Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Paperback)
  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Paperback)
zoom

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Paperback)

(author), (author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 05/04/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

‘Shaffer's writing, with its delicately offbeat, self-deprecating stylishness, is exquisitely turned, bearing a clear debt to Jane Austen.’ – The Guardian

A war-ravaged Britain is emerging from the Second World War. It’s a new start too for writer Juliet Ashton, keenly seeking out material for a new novel. Fate, however, finds its way, as the chance find by a Guernsey native of a book belonging to Juliet opens a surprising door. Soon, what began as a writerly search for inspiration will result in changes she could never anticipate.

In the tradition of Helene Hanff’s 84 Charing Cross Road, Mary Ann Shaffer’s The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society has become, since its posthumous publication, one of the classic epistolary novels.

Set against a background of both physical and psychological recovery from the monstrosity of war, Shaffer ekes out a gentle but still penetrative comedy of manners, where the exchange of letters between two bibliophiles gradually draws together two different worlds.

Simultaneously, we learn of the deep and often terrible sacrifices made by a small island community that found themselves abandoned to the power of the Nazi war machine.

Mary Ann Shaffer, who was born in West Virginia and lived for most of her life in California, tragically passed away during the manuscript’s editing: the final drafts were completed by her niece Annie Barrows.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408895993
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 197 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Delightfully spirited ... You'd have to be pretty hard-hearted not to fall under its spell' - Daily Mail 

'Atmospheric and touching ... it is about love and friendship and the ability of these qualities to survive adversity' - Alexander McCall Smith, The Times 

'Every now and again, a book comes along that is simple yet effective, readable yet memorable. This is one such delight ... It is a uniquely humane vision of inhumanity; one to lift even the most cynical of spirits' - The Times

'Funny, moving and quite unlike anything I have read for a long time' - Sunday Telegraph 

'Shaffer's writing, with its self-deprecating humour and jaunty stylishness, is a heart-warmingly nostalgic journey into another age' - Independent

'This heart-warming novel contrasts the grimness of occupied Guernsey with the humour and courage of the inhabitants' - Daily Mail 

'So comforting. A real satin coverlet of a book' - Rachel Cooke, New Statesman 

'The society's members are quirky and lovable, their friendships touching and the letters so funny and moving that by the time she's considering a visit to the island we are desperate to go with her... Warm and witty' - Observer

'Thronging with lovable people ... The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society commemorates beautiful spirits who pass through our midst and hunker undercover through brutal times. Shaffer's Guernsey characters step from the past radiant with eccentricity and kindly humour, a comic version of the state of grace ... Shaffer's writing, with its delicately offbeat, self-deprecating stylishness, is exquisitely turned' - Guardian 

You may also be interested in...

Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Librarian
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
One Day in December
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback

Reviews

View all
Steph at Basingstoke

“Touching and good fun”

A lovely tale of piecing happiness together again after the war, told in letters centred around author Juliet and a very unusual book club on Guernsey. It's a bit jarring how harrowing details about the... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
22nd June 2018
Helpful? Upvote 2
TheBookTrail

“Guernsey history, heart and soul”

This really is a remarkable book and I can also now say a remarkable film too! Guernsey really is a beautiful place that shamefully I have not managed to get to yet, but I want to go more after having seen the film... More

Paperback edition
31st May 2018
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Occupied”

3.5 Stars

I only purchased this book because of the title - it intrigued me - then shortly after purchasing I saw a trailer for the movie so figured I'd better move it up my "to be read" list. I... More

Paperback edition
29th August 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.