Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Great Shift: Encountering God in Biblical Times (Paperback)
  • The Great Shift: Encountering God in Biblical Times (Paperback)
zoom

The Great Shift: Encountering God in Biblical Times (Paperback)

(author)
£13.99
Paperback 496 Pages / Published: 01/10/2018
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
These stories spoke very differently to their original audience than they do to us, and they reflect a radically distinct understanding of reality and the human mind. Yet over the course of the thousand-year Biblical era, encounters with God changed dramatically. As James L. Kugel argues, this transition allows us to glimpse a massive shift in human experience as the modern, Western idea of the individual is born. In this landmark work, Kugel fuses revelatory close readings of ancient texts with modern scholarship from a range of fields, including neuroscience, anthropology, psychology, and archaeology, to explain the origins of belief, monotheism, worship, divine omniscience, and - crucially - the human sense of self. In the tradition of books such as The Swerve and The Better Angels of Our Nature,The Great Shift tells the story of a revolution in human consciousness and the enchantment of everyday life. This book will make believers and seekers think differently not just about the Bible but about the entire history of the human imagination.

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
ISBN: 9781328505927
Number of pages: 496
Dimensions: 203 x 135 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Lively, inviting account . . . the author is at home in every era from that of the ancient texts to our own, and he makes for an excellent guide. Biblical exegesis at its best: a brilliant and sensitive reading of ancient texts, all with an eye to making them meaningful to our time by making sense of what they meant in their own." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Provocative . . . likely to interest both believers and nonbelievers with some familiarity with the Old Testament." --Booklist

You may also be interested in...

The Gospel of Mark
Added to basket
£1.00
Paperback
Inside the Christmas Story
Added to basket
The Lion Handbook to the Bible
Added to basket
Simply Jesus
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Glasgow Bible
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Meeting God in Mark
Added to basket
Lost Scriptures
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Book of Books
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
KJV Apocrypha Text Edition KJ530:A
Added to basket
Unlocking the Bible
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Sisters Of Sinai
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
NIV Bible Handbook
Added to basket
The Book of Genesis
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.