The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match (Paperback)
  • The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match (Paperback)
zoom

The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
£6.99
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 11/01/2018
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Being friends with a super sleuth isn't easy, especially when she's nine years old and four feet tall. But for 11-year-old aspiring writer John Watson, being friends with Shelby Holmes is just the adventure he's looking for. In the few weeks since moving into Harlem with his mum, Shelby has been training John in the art of observation - a skill that comes in handy on the very first day of school. John's new teacher, Mr Cobb, is acting suspiciously, and Shelby knows this is a mystery worth investigating. Something important has gone missing, but as Shelby and John dig deeper into the mystery of the Cobb caper, they discover that there may be someone unexpected involved. Could Shelby Holmes have finally met her match? Girl power comes to Baker Street in a book that's perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Robin Stevens.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408871492
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 180 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Mystery fans may try to solve the case, but most, like John, will enjoy just hanging out with Shelby to see what happens next * Booklist *
A delightful coming-of-age story -- Suzanne Collins, New York Times bestselling author of The Hunger Games on THE LONELY HEARTS CLUB
Brisk pacing, likable characters, a few silly Holmes jokes ... and a diverse neighborhood, carefully and realistically described by John, are ingredients for success. A smart, fresh take on an old favorite makes for a terrific series kickoff * Kirkus Reviews *
In this series opener, Eulberg (We Can Work It Out) creates a lively present-day update of Sherlock Holmes, one with plenty of winks to the source material. Readers will delight in Shelby's ability to read clues in this well-plotted mystery and sympathize with Watson who, along with the rest of the supporting cast, is generally two steps behind Shelby. * Publishers Weekly *
Readers will delight in Shelby's ability to read clues in this well-plotted mystery and sympathize with Watson who, along with the rest of the supporting cast, is generally two steps behind Shelby. * Publisher's Weekly *

You may also be interested in...

Mirabelle Has a Bad Day
Added to basket
£5.99   £4.99
Paperback
Isadora Moon Goes to a Wedding PB
Added to basket
Dragon Legend
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Day I Fell Into a Fairytale
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Supertato: Bubbly Troubly
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dog Man 8: Fetch-22 (PB)
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Future Friend
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
House of Hollow
Added to basket
Shadow and Bone: Ruin and Rising
Added to basket
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Great Godden
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.