The Gravity of Us (Paperback)
  • The Gravity of Us (Paperback)
zoom

The Gravity of Us (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 14/05/2020
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
"I'm so starry-eyed for this wise, romantic gem of a book." - Becky Albertalli, bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda In this smart, heart-warming YA debut perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, two teens find love when their lives are uprooted for their parents' involvement in a NASA mission to Mars. Cal wants to be a journalist, and he's already well underway with almost half a million followers on his FlashFame app and an upcoming internship at Buzzfeed. But his plans are derailed when his pilot father is selected for a highly-publicized NASA mission to Mars. Within days, Cal and his parents leave Brooklyn for hot and humid Houston. With the entire nation desperate for any new information about the astronauts, Cal finds himself thrust in the middle of a media circus. Suddenly his life is more like a reality TV show, with his constantly bickering parents struggling with their roles as the "perfect American family." And then Cal meets Leon, whose mother is another astronaut on the mission, and he finds himself falling head over heels--and fast. They become an oasis for each other amid the craziness of this whole experience. As their relationship grows, so does the frenzy surrounding the Mars mission, and when secrets are revealed about ulterior motives of the program, Cal must find a way to get to the truth without hurting the people who have become most important to him.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781526619945
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Phil Stamper's The Gravity of Us is the first love, first launch, astronaut story I didn't know I needed. I'm so starry-eyed for this wise, romantic gem of a book. * Becky Albertalli, bestselling author of SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA *
A big-hearted, witty, and intensely relatable debut about reaching for your dreams without losing what grounds you. * Karen M. McManus, New York Times bestselling author of ONE OF US IS LYING and TWO CAN KEEP A SECRET *
A grounded romance that shapes into its own lovely constellation. * Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling co-author of WHAT IF IT'S US *
The Gravity of Us speaks poignantly of the things that will attend every human endeavor: family, struggle to know one's self, and the kind of love that makes you feel like you're hurtling to the stars. * Jeff Zentner, Morris Award winning author of THE SERPENT KING *
Phil Stamper's confident debut is an excellent exploration of modern social media, first love, and how to use your voice to do good, centered around the preparations for the first crewed mission to Mars. Calvin and Leon are fierce and sweet, and I never wanted their story to end. To put it bluntly, The Gravity of Us is out of this world. * Shaun David Hutchinson, author of WE ARE THE ANTS, THE PAST, and OTHER THINGS THAT SHOULD STAY BURIED *
At once a tender love story and an honest exploration of anxiety, ambition, and family dynamics, Phil Stamper's The Gravity of Us pulls you in and takes you on a beautiful, heartfelt journey. Never has the NASA space program seemed so romantic. * Caleb Roehrig, author of LAST SEEN LEAVING and WHITE RABBIT *
A debut to remember, Stamper's The Gravity Of Us draws you in for a journey of family, friendships, and ambition while exploring the power of social media and our own voices. Equal parts thoughtful and heartfelt, this book never misses a beat. Cal and Leon have my heart drifting in orbit. * Julian Winters, author of RUNNING WITH LIONS *
A sweet-spirited romance that will capture readers' hearts and imaginations. * Booklist, starred review *

You may also be interested in...

The Worst Witch
Added to basket
£5.99   £4.99
Paperback
Dork Diaries: Birthday Drama!
Added to basket
Dog Man 5: Lord of the Fleas PB
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Funnybones
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Spectacular School Trip (Really.)
Added to basket
Bad Dad
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
I, Cosmo
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Subtle Knife
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
£32.00   £27.99
Hardback
The Taylor TurboChaser
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
Dog Man 7: For Whom the Ball Rolls
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.