The Gravity of Us (Paperback)
  • The Gravity of Us (Paperback)
zoom

The Gravity of Us (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 14/05/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Alice Oseman and Becky Albertalli, Stamper’s winning novel of teen love amidst the madness of adult life boasts compelling characterisation and sensitive, eloquent prose. Capturing the awkward mechanics of a burgeoning relationship with grace and charm, The Gravity of Us is a beautifully constructed story.

'I'm so starry-eyed for this wise, romantic gem of a book.' - Becky Albertalli

Cal wants to be a journalist, and he's already well underway with almost half a million followers on his FlashFame app and an upcoming internship at Buzzfeed. But his plans are derailed when his pilot father is selected for a highly-publicized NASA mission to Mars.

Within days, Cal and his parents leave Brooklyn for hot and humid Houston. With the entire nation desperate for any new information about the astronauts, Cal finds himself thrust in the middle of a media circus. Suddenly his life is more like a reality TV show, with his constantly bickering parents struggling with their roles as the "perfect American family."

And then Cal meets Leon, whose mother is another astronaut on the mission, and he finds himself falling head over heels--and fast. They become an oasis for each other amid the craziness of this whole experience. As their relationship grows, so does the frenzy surrounding the Mars mission, and when secrets are revealed about ulterior motives of the program, Cal must find a way to get to the truth without hurting the people who have become most important to him.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781526619945
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 222 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Phil Stamper's The Gravity of Us is the first love, first launch, astronaut story I didn't know I needed. I'm so starry-eyed for this wise, romantic gem of a book.' - Becky Albertalli

'A big-hearted, witty, and intensely relatable debut about reaching for your dreams without losing what grounds you.' - Karen M. McManus

You may also be interested in...

Heartstopper Volume 1
Added to basket
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Heartstopper Yearbook
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
Nothing More to Tell
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
The First to Die at the End
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
Win Lose Kill Die
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume 2
Added to basket
The School for Good and Evil
Added to basket
Nick and Charlie
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Five Survive
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Summer I Turned Pretty
Added to basket

“Martian Teenage Journalism”

A huge thank you to Bloomsbury and NetGalley for the ARC of The Gravity of Us by Phil Stamper.

An enthralling tale of a teenager, Cal, who has his life mapped out (he's a planner) and then everything completely... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 25

“A delight from start to finish”

As someone who is obsessed with the history of space exploration, this unique setting of this novel piqued my curiosity and kept my hooked throughout. The main character of Cal felt real whilst being in a situation... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“One of the top YA titles coming out this year!”

17-year-old, Brooklyn hipster Cal wants to be a journalist. He is well on his way, with half a million followers and a Buzzfeed internship lined up. But his life is turned around when his Dad is selected for the first... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.