The Gravity of Us (Paperback)
  • The Gravity of Us (Paperback)
zoom

The Gravity of Us (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 14/05/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Alice Oseman and Becky Albertalli, Stamper’s winning novel of teen love amidst the madness of adult life boasts compelling characterisation and sensitive, eloquent prose. Capturing the awkward mechanics of a burgeoning relationship with grace and charm, The Gravity of Us is a beautifully constructed story.

'I'm so starry-eyed for this wise, romantic gem of a book.' - Becky Albertalli

Cal wants to be a journalist, and he's already well underway with almost half a million followers on his FlashFame app and an upcoming internship at Buzzfeed. But his plans are derailed when his pilot father is selected for a highly-publicized NASA mission to Mars.

Within days, Cal and his parents leave Brooklyn for hot and humid Houston. With the entire nation desperate for any new information about the astronauts, Cal finds himself thrust in the middle of a media circus. Suddenly his life is more like a reality TV show, with his constantly bickering parents struggling with their roles as the "perfect American family."

And then Cal meets Leon, whose mother is another astronaut on the mission, and he finds himself falling head over heels--and fast. They become an oasis for each other amid the craziness of this whole experience. As their relationship grows, so does the frenzy surrounding the Mars mission, and when secrets are revealed about ulterior motives of the program, Cal must find a way to get to the truth without hurting the people who have become most important to him.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781526619945
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 222 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Phil Stamper's The Gravity of Us is the first love, first launch, astronaut story I didn't know I needed. I'm so starry-eyed for this wise, romantic gem of a book. - Becky Albertalli, bestselling author of SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA

A big-hearted, witty, and intensely relatable debut about reaching for your dreams without losing what grounds you. - Karen M. McManus, New York Times bestselling author of ONE OF US IS LYING and TWO CAN KEEP A SECRET

A grounded romance that shapes into its own lovely constellation. - Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling co-author of WHAT IF IT'S US

The Gravity of Us speaks poignantly of the things that will attend every human endeavor: family, struggle to know one’s self, and the kind of love that makes you feel like you’re hurtling to the stars. - Jeff Zentner, Morris Award winning author of THE SERPENT KING

Phil Stamper’s confident debut is an excellent exploration of modern social media, first love, and how to use your voice to do good, centered around the preparations for the first crewed mission to Mars. Calvin and Leon are fierce and sweet, and I never wanted their story to end. To put it bluntly, The Gravity of Us is out of this world. - Shaun David Hutchinson, author of WE ARE THE ANTS, THE PAST, and OTHER THINGS THAT SHOULD STAY BURIED

At once a tender love story and an honest exploration of anxiety, ambition, and family dynamics, Phil Stamper’s The Gravity of Us pulls you in and takes you on a beautiful, heartfelt journey. Never has the NASA space program seemed so romantic. - Caleb Roehrig, author of LAST SEEN LEAVING and WHITE RABBIT

A debut to remember, Stamper’s The Gravity Of Us draws you in for a journey of family, friendships, and ambition while exploring the power of social media and our own voices. Equal parts thoughtful and heartfelt, this book never misses a beat. Cal and Leon have my heart drifting in orbit. - Julian Winters, author of RUNNING WITH LIONS

A sweet-spirited romance that will capture readers’ hearts and imaginations. - Booklist, starred review

Phil Stamper’s The Gravity of Us is so interesting and well crafted that it’s hard to believe it’s his first novel. . . . Readers will root for Cal and Leon, their budding romance, their astronaut families and, of course, the prospect of life among the stars. - BookPage, starred review

Stamper crafts a sweet fish-out-of-water tale that also shrewdly explores the intersection between social class and modern media culture…A charming and satisfying first novel. - Kirkus Reviews

Given the important issues raised—media responsibility, NASA and politics, friendship and romance, mental health—this has something for a lot of different teen readers. - School Library Journal

A openhearted novel that shows a realistic, imperfect queer relationship and a young man growing to know and to be true to himself even when everything is shifting around him. - Publishers Weekly

Wow. When I picked up this book I knew I would enjoy it, if you go back to my post from a few days ago I explain that. What I didn’t understand is how much I would truly enjoy this book, and how necessary it was - Caity.Reads

I ADORED this book so much! Highly recommend that you all read this book NOW - Bookslovereaders

If you’re looking for a cute af gay YA romance that is awkward and sweet and lovely, I can’t recommend @stampepk’s The Gravity of Us enough - AlimKheraj

An emotionally intense, heartrending love story to the stars - Attitude Magazine

This book is so gripping and easy to read. I liked the way I got to know the characters over just a few pages. The romantic moments and mental issues felt so real, making the book relatable. The book also teaches us about the reality of dealing with the media, social media and family dynamics - Teen Titles Magazine

You may also be interested in...

Heartstopper Volume 5
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
If He Had Been with Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Divine Rivals
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Girl, Goddess, Queen
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lightlark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Martian Teenage Journalism”

A huge thank you to Bloomsbury and NetGalley for the ARC of The Gravity of Us by Phil Stamper.

An enthralling tale of a teenager, Cal, who has his life mapped out (he's a planner) and then everything completely... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“A delight from start to finish”

As someone who is obsessed with the history of space exploration, this unique setting of this novel piqued my curiosity and kept my hooked throughout. The main character of Cal felt real whilst being in a situation... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

“One of the top YA titles coming out this year!”

17-year-old, Brooklyn hipster Cal wants to be a journalist. He is well on his way, with half a million followers and a Buzzfeed internship lined up. But his life is turned around when his Dad is selected for the first... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 22

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: