The Gravity of Us (Paperback)
  • The Gravity of Us (Paperback)
zoom

The Gravity of Us (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 14/05/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Alice Oseman and Becky Albertalli, Stamper’s winning novel of teen love amidst the madness of adult life boasts compelling characterisation and sensitive, eloquent prose. Capturing the awkward mechanics of a burgeoning relationship with grace and charm, The Gravity of Us is a beautifully constructed story.

'I'm so starry-eyed for this wise, romantic gem of a book.' - Becky Albertalli

Cal wants to be a journalist, and he's already well underway with almost half a million followers on his FlashFame app and an upcoming internship at Buzzfeed. But his plans are derailed when his pilot father is selected for a highly-publicized NASA mission to Mars.

Within days, Cal and his parents leave Brooklyn for hot and humid Houston. With the entire nation desperate for any new information about the astronauts, Cal finds himself thrust in the middle of a media circus. Suddenly his life is more like a reality TV show, with his constantly bickering parents struggling with their roles as the "perfect American family."

And then Cal meets Leon, whose mother is another astronaut on the mission, and he finds himself falling head over heels--and fast. They become an oasis for each other amid the craziness of this whole experience. As their relationship grows, so does the frenzy surrounding the Mars mission, and when secrets are revealed about ulterior motives of the program, Cal must find a way to get to the truth without hurting the people who have become most important to him.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781526619945
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 222 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Phil Stamper's The Gravity of Us is the first love, first launch, astronaut story I didn't know I needed. I'm so starry-eyed for this wise, romantic gem of a book.' - Becky Albertalli

'A big-hearted, witty, and intensely relatable debut about reaching for your dreams without losing what grounds you.' - Karen M. McManus

You may also be interested in...

Concrete Rose
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
First Day of My Life
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
A Vow So Bold and Deadly
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sad Ghost Club
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Gilded Ones
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Hardback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Cinderella Is Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Midnight Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes
Added to basket
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket

“A delight from start to finish”

As someone who is obsessed with the history of space exploration, this unique setting of this novel piqued my curiosity and kept my hooked throughout. The main character of Cal felt real whilst being in a situation... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“Martian Teenage Journalism”

A huge thank you to Bloomsbury and NetGalley for the ARC of The Gravity of Us by Phil Stamper.

An enthralling tale of a teenager, Cal, who has his life mapped out (he's a planner) and then everything completely... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“One of the top YA titles coming out this year!”

17-year-old, Brooklyn hipster Cal wants to be a journalist. He is well on his way, with half a million followers and a Buzzfeed internship lined up. But his life is turned around when his Dad is selected for the first... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.