The Gravity of Birds (Paperback)
  • The Gravity of Birds (Paperback)
zoom

The Gravity of Birds (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 15/08/2013
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A haunting debut of love in all its forms, The Gravity of Birds perfectly captures the devastating consequences betrayal can have through the decades, echoing right through to the present day.

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Maggie O'Farrell

Sisters Alice and Natalie were once close, but adolescence has wrenched them apart. Alice is a dreamer who loves books and birds; Natalie is headstrong, manipulative - and beautiful.

On their lakeside family holiday, Alice falls under the thrall of a struggling young painter, Thomas Bayber. Natalie, however, seems strangely unmoved, tolerating sittings for a family portrait with surprising indifference. But by the end of the summer, three lives are shattered.

Decades later, Thomas, now a world-renowned artist, reveals the existence of a portrait of himself with Alice and Natalie from that fateful summer. The sisters themselves have disappeared without a trace. And Thomas is torn between taking the secrets of the girls to the grave, or using the painting to resurrect the past before it closes up on them all for good...

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007488391
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 290 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A fabulous debut' Stylist

'I really loved it! A deep and compelling page-turning story handled with the lightest of touches. It's gone straight to the place on my bookshelf reserved for my favourite reads'
Louise Douglas, author of The Secrets Between Us

'The Gravity of Birds is a beautifully written book, splattered with painterly language as befits the art world this beguiling story inhabits'
Kathleen MacMahon, author of This is How it Ends

'A beautifully written, compelling story. I absolutely loved it'
Lucy Clarke, author of The Sea Sisters

'One of those rare, exquisitely written novels that haunt you long after you've finished the last page. It is a novel not to be missed'
Alyson Richman, author of The Lost Wife

'Part mystery, part psychological drama and intriguing love story. This is a stunning debut'
Ellen Sussman, author of French Lessons

'A richly textured novel' Oprah

'A riveting debut' Good Housekeeping

You may also be interested in...

Hamnet
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
A Burning
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“inspiring story”

I was truly mesmerized by this story. Even the question on the back of the book: How can you find someone who wants to be lost? still keeps me thinking.
This story is about two sisters who were very close to each... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

“Disappointed”

I had high expectations for this book and did indeed think it might be like a Kate Morton book sorry to say it didn't live up to my expectations. A good story line but just not gripping. It took 6 days to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“A beautiful story and great read”

The Gravity Of Birds by Tracy Guzeman explores a range of relationships, which some I were personally familiar with and others unfamiliar with. Experiencing through different perspectives the growth of friendships and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.