The Grace Year (Hardback)
  • The Grace Year (Hardback)
zoom

The Grace Year (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 10/10/2019
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

'An incredibly important and empowering read' Natasha Ngan, author of Girls of Paper and Fire

A New York Times bestselling dark speculative feminist thriller, perfect for fans of The Power and The Handmaid's Tale.
_____________________________________________

THE RESISTANCE STARTS HERE.

No one speaks of the grace year.
It's forbidden.
We're told we have the power to lure grown men from their beds, make boys lose their minds, and drive the wives mad with jealousy. That's why we're banished for our sixteenth year, to release our magic into the wild before we're allowed to return to civilisation.
But I don't feel powerful.
I don't feel magical.

Tierney James lives in an isolated village where girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness - and each other - for a year. They must rid themselves of their dangerous magic before returning purified and ready to marry - if they're lucky.

It is forbidden to speak of the grace year, but even so every girl knows that the coming year will change them - if they survive it...

A critically acclaimed page-turning feminist dystopia about a young woman trapped in an oppressive society, fighting to take control of her own life.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781529100587
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 529 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 37 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Part coming-of-age tale, part adventure story; this is not a cry against oppression - it's a bold, beautiful howl. * Heat Magazine *
An incredibly important and empowering read * Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire *
A crazy mash-up of Vox, The Hunger Games, Lord Of The Flies and The Handmaid's Tale. * Daily Mail *
A must-read for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power * Bustle *
Harrowing and absolutely riveting, an insidious journey from reason to madness that manages to completely refresh the concept of the patriarchal dystopia, with a beautifully realised ending. * Melissa Albert, New York Times bestselling author of THE HAZEL WOOD *

You may also be interested in...

The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Mask Falling
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Ready Player Two
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Starve Acre
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Machines Like Me
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
Tales from the Cafe
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket

“The further you read, the more gripping it gets”

Think The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games meets Lord of The Flies…

Tierney and her fellow 16 year olds are marched away to experience their grace year – locked up together in an encampment to ‘lose their... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Powerful Feminist Dystopia!”

The Grace Year is a great piece of dystopian fiction with a real focus on the suppression (and power) of female voices and a very strong, quite bluntly wielded feminist message.

I’m not going to say too much because... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Flawless; intense and wonderful writing!”

So I wasn’t the biggest fan of The Testaments. For me it lacked in many areas- finesse; answers to questions and character development to name a few. And ultimately if left me wanting... better dystopian fiction... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.