The Governors of New South Wales: 1788-2010 (Hardback)
  • The Governors of New South Wales: 1788-2010 (Hardback)

The Governors of New South Wales: 1788-2010 (Hardback)

Hardback Published: 14/12/2009
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

This book contains biographical accounts of all 37 Governors of New South Wales from Arthur Phillip in 1788 to Marie Bashir. Highlights of the book include John Hunter's amazing sea voyages, the erratic career of the 'devious and foul-tempered' William Bligh, the highly public clashes of Sir Hercules Robinson (nicknamed the 'Crisis maker') with Governments and Parliament, the 'Boy's Own' Naval career of the swashbuckling Sir Harry Rawson, the extraordinary double life of Lord Beauchamp and the dramatic events surrounding Sir Philip Game's dismissal of Jack Lang. Leading historians such as Brian Fletcher, JM Bennett, Geoffrey Bolton, Graham Freudenberg, Anne Twomey, Chris Cunneen, Ian Hancock, Evan Williams and Rodney Cavalier tell of both extraordinary lives and the political and constitutional crises many had to face.

Publisher: Federation Press
ISBN: 9781862877436

You may also be interested in...

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?

Review us on Trustpilot