• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder (Paperback)
  • The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder (Paperback)
zoom

The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 03/07/2014
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

After his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was quickly dubbed 'The Angel of Death' by the media. But Cullen was no mercy killer, nor was he a simple monster. He was a favourite son, husband, beloved father, best friend, and celebrated caregiver. Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300 patients, he was also perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American history. Cullen's murderous career in the world's most trusted profession spanned sixteen years and nine hospitals across New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Investigative journalist Charles Graeber's portrait of Cullen depicts a surprisingly intelligent and complicated young man whose promising career was overwhelmed by his compulsion to kill, and whose shy demeanor masked a twisted interior life hidden even to his family and friends. Were it not for the hardboiled, unrelenting work of two former Newark homicide detectives racing to put together the pieces of Cullen's professional past, and a fellow nurse willing to put everything at risk, including her job and the safety of her children, there's no telling how many more lives could have been lost. In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Good Nurse does more than chronicle Cullen's deadly career and the breathless efforts to stop him; it paints an incredibly vivid portrait of madness and offers an urgent, terrifying tale of murder, friendship and betrayal.

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781782393498
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 296 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 24 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Charles Cullen is thought to be responsible for the deaths of as many as 400 patients during his career as a nurse... His crimes are outlined in The Good Nurse, an absorbing tale that's simultaneously terrifying and barely credible.... A standout true-crime book, one that doubles as both a thrilling horror story and a cautionary tale * Boston Globe *
The most terrifying book published this year. It is also one of the most thoughtful... The Good Nurse is gripping, sad, suspenseful, rhythmic and beautifully documented (the endnotes to this book are impressive). * Kirkus Reviews *
Graeber doesn't pull punches... A deeply unsettling addition to the true crime genre. * Publishers Weekly *

You may also be interested in...

Girl A
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Gangs Of Birmingham
Added to basket
My James
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Real Peaky Blinders
Added to basket
Jimmy The Weed
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
World's Top Twenty Worst Crimes
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Jigsaw Man
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Butcher
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hotel K
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Inside Alcatraz
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Underground
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Stranger Beside Me
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Dark Net
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Rise of the Footsoldier
Added to basket
Forensics
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Talking with Serial Killers
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.