The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One) (Paperback)
  • The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One) (Paperback)
zoom

The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One) (Paperback)

(author), (cover design/artwork)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 06/02/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back?

Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with.

Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea.

When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow...

Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix and Michelle Paver.

NOMINATED FOR THE 2021 CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 HIGHLAND BOOK PRIZE

As featured on BBC Radio 2 on Jo Whiley's Storytime.

"A thrilling, strange and brutally involving debut." Guardian

"A story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they've been waiting for." New York Times

"An exciting new fantasy series set in an ancient mythical Scotland laced with dark magic." The Times

"A wild, thrilling and sometimes dark fantasy adventure." The Week Junior

"A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away." Emma Carroll

"A thrilling adventure in a beautifully imagined world. I defy you not to want to follow Agatha to the end of the known world." Frank Cottrell-Boyce

"A brave new voice in fantasy fiction." Sally Green, author of Half Bad

"I could hardly turn the pages fast enough." Holly Jackson, author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

"Darkly beautiful, original and brimming with hope and compassion." Kesia Lupo, author of We Are Blood And Thunder

"
A s
ublimely plotted, windswept adventure." Cerrie Burnell, Children's TV Presenter and author of The Girl with the Shark's Teeth

"This book is a triumph." Katya Balen, author of The Space We're In

"One of the freshest, most exciting fantasies I've ever read." Sarah Ann Juckes, author of Outside

"A proper barnstormer ... This book is a charismatic charmer." SFX

"A page-turner of a book, packing a real punch with its high-level suspense." BookTrust

"Rich in atmosphere while dripping with grisly violence ... A fresh and exciting debut." Kirkus

"The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness."
The Irish Times

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406385854
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 255 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
With its blend of unusual character development and clever exploration of ancient realms, "The Good Hawk" is a story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they've been waiting for. -- Kaitlyn Wells * The New York Times *
Featured in the Best Children's Books of the Year 2020. * The Times & The Irish Times *
The Good Hawk blends ancient myth and doses of spectacularly dark magic with the most likeable - and unlikely - pair of of heroes. A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away. -- Emma Carroll
The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness, which Elliott cleverly lets reign in the closing epilogue, as he pushes the remarkable Agatha's fate - not her clan's - to the forefront. * The Irish Times *
The Good Hawk has 368 pages that are filled with a cast of weird and wonderful characters that the reader can engage with, and who have the most incredible adventures. * ReadingZone *

You may also be interested in...

The Girl of Ink & Stars
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dead or Alive
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Midnight Guardians
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Danger Gang
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Midnight Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
The Desolations of Devil's Acre
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure
Added to basket
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

“Not all is as it seems...”

Agatha and Jaime have never left their remote Hebridean home. Now, following a catastrophe beyond their imagining they must venture into the unknown, through the dangers of the mainland, and across the wilderness of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“Gripping stuff!”

Joseph Elliot's understanding of special needs children, is shown clearly by the brilliant narrative of Agatha, who has Downs Syndrome.
Agatha & the other main character Jaime, embark on a challenging &... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
Whispering Stories

“Amazing and I can't wait for the next in the series”

The Good Hawk is a YA historical book set in the days when Clans ruled parts of the world. The book opens with fifteen-year-old Agatha who has Down Syndrome. She lives at the north of the Isle of Skye with her clan,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.