The Good Hand: A Memoir of Work, Brotherhood and Transformation in an American Boomtown (Hardback)
  • The Good Hand: A Memoir of Work, Brotherhood and Transformation in an American Boomtown (Hardback)
zoom

The Good Hand: A Memoir of Work, Brotherhood and Transformation in an American Boomtown (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 464 Pages / Published: 04/03/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Essential reading for fans of Educated and Hillbilly Elegy, Smith’s rough-hewn memoir of earning a dime drilling for oil in North Dakota is a hilarious, eye-opening and surprisingly tender account of community and unlikely friendships.

Michael Patrick Smith grew up in a ramshackle farmhouse where his father beat the walls and threw dinner plates. As a restless young man left unmoored by the crashing economy, Smith cut a path to North Dakota to rent a mattress on a flophouse floor.

Sleeping boot to beard with the other rough-edged men looking to earn a cent drilling for oil, Smith wanted the work to burn him clean - of his violent upbringing, his demons, his disjointed, doomed relationships. He did not expect, among these quick-fisted, foul-mouthed hands, to find a community.

The Good Hand is a memoir of danger and exhaustion, of suffering, loneliness and grit, of masculinity and of learning how to reconcile yourself to yourself.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008399436
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 700 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 41 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Thrillingly and wrenchingly funny ... like Educated and Hillbilly Elegy, The Good Hand is one of those brilliant close-ups that suddenly flips to become a wide shot of the American moment. An engrossing combination of participation, reportage, self-discovery, and witness' - David Lipsky, author of Although of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself

'Smith guides us through a long muddy year in North Dakota's oil boom ... It's a surprisingly tender account of a man who is searching for salvation - from the sins of his family, from the drunken and drugged-up sins of a world broken by corporations - while trying desperately to find himself through work' - Robert Sullivan, author of The Thoreau You Don't Know

'A sincere and colourful account of down-and-out men trying to make it and maybe grow up in the eternal dreary tailgate party and crushing dangerous toil of the fracking boom. As one of Smith's mentors tells him, "now you know why gas is so expensive."' - William T. Vollmann, author of The Lucky Star

'A thrill-read - There Will Be Blood made modern, and with added wit - The Good Hand is that rare literary treasure: all things, all at once. By mixing memoir with reportage and analysis, and telling his tale with rigor and joy, Smith gives us a hoot that also feels necessary' - Darin Strauss, author of Half a Life

'Novelistic, gritty reportage, very large in heart, with memorable characters on almost every page, The Good Hand will remind readers of the best of Orwell and Ehrenreich. A beautifully evoked, compelling memoir' - Philip Dray, author of There is Power in a Union

'A fine successor to Orwell's Down and Out in Paris and London, translated to the epic scope and sweep of the prairie West ... Paints a larger portrait of the American worker's heroically tragic struggle for a thin slice of the pie' - John Strausbaugh, author of Victory City

You may also be interested in...

The Palace Papers
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Ukraine Diaries
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Freezing Order
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Burn After Writing
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Red Notice
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Crying in H Mart
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Taste
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Conversations on Love
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Moth and the Mountain
Added to basket
In Wartime
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Windswept & Interesting
Added to basket
Lily's Promise
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
This is Going to Hurt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Wild Silence
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Red Prince
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
And Away...
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Fall
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Lost Cafe Schindler
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.