The Good Guy: A deeply compelling novel about love and marriage set in 1960s suburban America (Hardback)
  • The Good Guy: A deeply compelling novel about love and marriage set in 1960s suburban America (Hardback)
zoom

The Good Guy: A deeply compelling novel about love and marriage set in 1960s suburban America (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 320 Pages
Published: 16/06/2016

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2016

She had to go back and read it again. Twice… How amazing that ink marks on paper can contain such power, she thought, and instantly remembered having had this very thought decades before. She stared at the handwriting searching for clues about its writer – was she friendly, creative, a liar?

A life of expectation, tradition and convention and a passionate encounter that threatens to tear it apart.

Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. On the surface their life is a picture-postcard of suburban civility and squeaky-clean marital harmony – they have a life anyone would dream of. Whereas single-girl Penny just wants to be loved.

When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear.

The Good Guy is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.

A deeply compelling novel set in 1960s suburban America for fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473630338
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 558 g
Dimensions: 240 x 164 x 29 mm

You may also be interested in...

Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Old God's Time
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Antarctica
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback

“Susan Beale is a gifted author.”

I heard about The Good Guy when I read an article in a magazine about the author, I was intrigued and determined to get hold of and read her novel. I'm so very glad that I did. This really is a wonderfully... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 35

“Susan Beale is a gifted author”

I heard about The Good Guy when I read an article in a magazine about the author, I was intrigued and determined to get hold of and read her novel. I'm so very glad that I did. This really is a wonderfully... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“1960’s suburbia story of marriage and deception.”

When this book arrived in early June I sat and looked at the cover for some time wondering what the premise of the story was about. The cover is just sublime. The Good Guy by Susan Beale is inspired by her own true... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: