The Good Bear (Hardback)
  • The Good Bear (Hardback)
zoom

The Good Bear (Hardback)

(author), (illustrator)
£12.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 15/10/2020
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A beautifully illustrated winter story, set in a gorgeously evoked fairy-tale Norwegian landscape, that’s perfect for curling up with as the nights draw in. Thea feels lost when she visits her father and his new family for Christmas but when she finds a bear in the woods she is determined to save him, whatever the cost.

A wintry animal story for readers aged 9+ that will warm your heart and take you on an adventure you will never forget. From the bestselling author of A Dog Called Homeless. This is the perfect story for fans of Michael Morpurgo, Lauren St John and Sara Pennypacker's Pax.

It's the Christmas holidays and Thea is looking forward to spending them with her father. She can tell him all about her plans to become a writer, and maybe he'll buy her the typewriter she's been dreaming of.

But when Thea arrives in Norway, everything feels . . . wrong. Her father is as distant as ever and now she has to share him with his new family: his girlfriend Inge and her children. Then Thea makes a surprising discovery. Deep in the snowy woods by the house, is a bear. He's scared and hungry and he desperately needs Thea's help.

When the town hears about a bear living in the woods, Bear's life is in even greater danger. Thea needs to show everyone that he's not dangerous - he's a good bear - if she's to save him.

Beautifully illustrated by award-winning illustrator Fiona Woodcock, the artist behind Abi Elphinstone's The Snow Dragon.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471194672
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Author Sarah Lean and illustrator Fiona Woodcock build a beautiful, wintery world for this story about family and friendship' - The Scotsman

'Sarah Lean's beautifully written story about a lonely girl and a brown bear is a modern fairytale' - Booktrust

'Beautifully written with lovely illustrations, this heart-warming animal story is a real delight - perfect for cosy winter reading' - The Week Junior

You may also be interested in...

The World's Worst Pets
Added to basket
Noah's Gold
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
Looshkin: The Maddest Cat in the World
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good
Added to basket
Bunny vs Monkey and the Supersonic Aye-aye
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Added to basket
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Wilder than Midnight
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Legendarium
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Until the End
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Last Firefox
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Colour of Hope
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Girl Who Lost a Leopard
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sabotage on the Solar Express
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
TheCaffeinatedReader

“A Perfect Winter Read”

This was such a lovely story, one that shows the spirit of Christmas doesn’t always mean a lot of decorations and buying gifts. It also was a tale of how a family can come in various shapes and sizes and that... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“Helping a wild bear in Norway.”

The Good Bear by Sarah Lean is a truly wonderful, moving, wintry story about Thea and her attempts to help a wild bear in Norway. Thea had been looking forward to spending Christmas with her Dad in Norway, but when... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

“A huggable feast for the soul”

Thea loves Christmas and the traditions she and her mum have developed over the years; however, this year things will be different as she is to spend Christmas with her father and his new family in Norway. Thea is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.