The Good Bear (Hardback)
  • The Good Bear (Hardback)
zoom

The Good Bear (Hardback)

(author), (illustrator)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 15/10/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A wintry animal story for readers aged 9+ that will warm your heart and take you on an adventure you will never forget. From the bestselling author of A DOG CALLED HOMELESS. This is the perfect story for fans of Michael Morpurgo, Lauren St John and Sara Pennypacker's PAX.

It's the Christmas holidays and Thea is looking forward to spending them with her father. She can tell him all about her plans to become a writer, and maybe he'll buy her the typewriter she's been dreaming of.

But when Thea arrives in Norway, everything feels . . . wrong. Her father is as distant as ever and now she has to share him with his new family: his girlfriend Inge and her children. Then Thea makes a surprising discovery. Deep in the snowy woods by the house, is a bear. He's scared and hungry and he desperately needs Thea's help.

When the town hears about a bear living in the woods, Bear's life is in even greater danger. Thea needs to show everyone that he's not dangerous - he's a good bear - if she's to save him.

Beautifully illustrated by award-winning illustrator Fiona Woodcock, the artist behind Abi Elphinstone's The Snow Dragon.

'Author Sarah Lean and illustrator Fiona Woodcock build a beautiful, wintery world for this story about family and friendship' - The Scotsman

'Sarah Lean's beautifully written story about a lonely girl and a brown bear is a modern fairytale' - Booktrust

'Beautifully written with lovely illustrations, this heart-warming animal story is a real delight - perfect for cosy winter reading' - The Week Junior

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471194672
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Author Sarah Lean and illustrator Fiona Woodcock build a beautiful, wintery world for this story about family and friendship * The Scotsman *
Sarah Lean's beautifully written story about a lonely girl and a brown bear is a modern fairytale * Booktrust *
Beautifully written with lovely illustrations, this heart-warming animal story is a real delight - perfect for cosy winter reading * The Week Junior *

You may also be interested in...

The Gruffalo
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
The Night Bus Hero
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Jolly Christmas Postman
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Midnight Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Dog Man 9: Grime and Punishment
Added to basket
£10.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Midnight Gang
Added to basket
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
My Life as a Cat
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Littlest Yak
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Worst Witch
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback

“A huggable feast for the soul”

Thea loves Christmas and the traditions she and her mum have developed over the years; however, this year things will be different as she is to spend Christmas with her father and his new family in Norway. Thea is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8
TheCaffeinatedReader

“A Perfect Winter Read”

This was such a lovely story, one that shows the spirit of Christmas doesn’t always mean a lot of decorations and buying gifts. It also was a tale of how a family can come in various shapes and sizes and that... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Helping a wild bear in Norway.”

The Good Bear by Sarah Lean is a truly wonderful, moving, wintry story about Thea and her attempts to help a wild bear in Norway. Thea had been looking forward to spending Christmas with her Dad in Norway, but when... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.