The Good Bear (Paperback)
  • The Good Bear (Paperback)
  • The Good Bear (Paperback)
  • The Good Bear (Paperback)
  • The Good Bear (Paperback)
  • The Good Bear (Paperback)
  • The Good Bear (Paperback)
  • The Good Bear (Paperback)
zoom
The Good Bear (Paperback) The Good Bear (Paperback) The Good Bear (Paperback) The Good Bear (Paperback) The Good Bear (Paperback) The Good Bear (Paperback)

The Good Bear (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
£7.99
Paperback 320 Pages
Published: 28/10/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

This beautifully illustrated winter story, set in a gorgeously evoked fairy-tale Norwegian landscape, centres on a lost young girl determined to save a bear in the woods, whatever the cost. 

Waterstones Children's Book of the Month for November 2021

A story of friendship to treasure this Christmas...

From the bestselling author of A Dog Called Homeless, this is the perfect Christmas gift for fans of Michael Morpurgo, Lauren St John and Sara Pennypacker's Pax.

It's the Christmas holidays and Thea is looking forward to spending them with her father. She can tell him all about her plans to become a writer, and maybe he'll buy her the typewriter she's been dreaming of.

But when Thea arrives in snowy Norway, everything feels... wrong. Her father is as distant as ever and now she has to share him with his new family: his girlfriend Inge and her children. Then Thea makes a surprising discovery. Deep in the snowy woods by the house, is a bear. He's scared and hungry and he desperately needs Thea's help.

When the town hears about a bear living in the woods, Bear's life is in even greater danger. Thea needs to show everyone that he's not dangerous - he's a good bear - if she's to save him.

A gorgeous Christmas story for readers aged 9+ that will warm your heart and take you on an adventure you will never forget. Beautifully illustrated by award-winning illustrator Fiona Woodcock, the artist behind Abi Elphinstone's The Snow Dragon.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471194658
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Author Sarah Lean and illustrator Fiona Woodcock build a beautiful, wintery world for this story about family and friendship' - The Scotsman

'Sarah Lean's beautifully written story about a lonely girl and a brown bear is a modern fairytale' - Booktrust

'Beautifully written with lovely illustrations, this heart-warming animal story is a real delight - perfect for cosy winter reading' - The Week Junior

'Beautiful, wise and tender' - Zillah Bethell, author of The Shark Caller

'A big, beautiful hug of a book and the perfect winter companion' - Phil Earle, author of When the Sky Falls

“What a beautiful, heart-warming story” - ’ Abi Elphinstone, author of The Unmapped Chronicles

Sarah Lean on The Good Bear

You may also be interested in...

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Overlode
Added to basket
Spaceboy
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Tom Gates 20: Happy to Help (eventually)
Added to basket
Space Band
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Added to basket
Looshkin: The Maddest Cat in the World
Added to basket
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Ministry of Unladylike Activity
Added to basket
Fireborn: Twelve and the Frozen Forest
Added to basket
The Arctic Railway Assassin
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Peanut Jones and the Twelve Portals
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Never Forget You
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
TheCaffeinatedReader

“A Perfect Winter Read”

This was such a lovely story, one that shows the spirit of Christmas doesn’t always mean a lot of decorations and buying gifts. It also was a tale of how a family can come in various shapes and sizes and that... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

“Helping a wild bear in Norway.”

The Good Bear by Sarah Lean is a truly wonderful, moving, wintry story about Thea and her attempts to help a wild bear in Norway. Thea had been looking forward to spending Christmas with her Dad in Norway, but when... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

“A huggable feast for the soul”

Thea loves Christmas and the traditions she and her mum have developed over the years; however, this year things will be different as she is to spend Christmas with her father and his new family in Norway. Thea is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.