The Golem and the Djinni (Paperback)
  • The Golem and the Djinni (Paperback)
zoom

The Golem and the Djinni (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 656 Pages / Published: 01/01/2014
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
'One of only two novels I've ever loved whose main characters are not human'BARBARA KINGSOLVER

For fans of The Essex Serpentand The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock.

'By far my favourite book of of the year' Guardian

One cold night, two newcomers emerge onto the streets of 1899 New York, and it is never the same again.

But these two are more than strangers to this land, they are strangers to this world. From the depths of folkloric history come Chava the golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a disgraced rabbi and Ahmad, a djinni, born in the ancient Syrian desert and trapped in an old copper flask released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop.

Two companions who were never meant to be released, and never meant to meet. And when they do, their opposing natures will be sealed by a special bond, but one that is threatened by watching eyes, roaming owners and a misunderstanding world.

A glittering gem of a novel, as spell-binding as it is compelling, The Golem and The Djinniasks us what we're made of and how we can break free.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007480197
Number of pages: 656
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 41 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'By far my favourite book of of the year ... There isn't a wasted word, poorly considered paragraph or a single chapter in this high-concept fairytale that doesn't deliver some new enchantment' Damien Walter, Guardian

'The Golem and The Djinni has the detailed realism of historical fiction, the haunting feel of a folk tale, and is one of only two novels I've ever loved whose main characters are not human' Barbara Kingsolver

'The author makes you care enough about the humanity of these magical spirits to not only see them through to the end but also to regret that you've reached the last page' New York Times

'A continuous delight - provocative, atmospheric, and superbly paced' Boston Globe

'The Golem and The Djinni are among my favourite fictional people' Washington Post

You may also be interested in...

The Once and Future King
Added to basket
Over Nine Waves
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Last English King
Added to basket
Russian Fairy Tales
Added to basket
The Folk Tales of Scotland
Added to basket
Irish Fairy Tales
Added to basket
One Thousand and One Nights
Added to basket
Beowulf
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Crystal Cave
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Greek Myths
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Odyssey
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Lilith the Last Temptation of Adam
Added to basket

“A magical creation!”

An utterly absorbing fable of old magic re-emerging at the turn of the 20th century amongst the bustling streets of migrants making their new homes in New York. This is a tale, not just of a Djinni and a Golem, but... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 69

“Wonderful cross-genre story”

A wonderful story of two outsiders coming to turn-of-the-century New York. Chava is a Golem, made from clay to be a perfect wife, and Ahmad is a Djinni, trapped long ago in a flask by a wizard. But when Chava's... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 69

“A Meeting of Myths”

This is a good, well plotted and inventive story but it felt like something was missing. There was no spark, no wow factor that kept me engrossed and needing to read just one more chapter. It’s marketed as perfect for... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 50

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.