The Golem and the Djinni (Paperback)
  • The Golem and the Djinni (Paperback)
zoom

The Golem and the Djinni (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 656 Pages / Published: 07/01/2014
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
THESE NEWCOMERS ARE DIFFERENT. THEY WILL CHANGE EVERYTHING.

For fans of The Essex Serpent and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock.

`By far my favourite book of of the year' Guardian

`One of only two novels I've ever loved whose main characters are not human' Barbara Kingsolver

One cold night, two newcomers emerge onto the streets of 1899 New York, and it is never the same again.

But these two are more than strangers to this land, they are strangers to this world. From the depths of folkloric history come Chava the golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a disgraced rabbi and Ahmad, a djinni, born in the ancient Syrian desert and trapped in an old copper flask released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop.

Two companions who were never meant to be released, and never meant to meet. And when they do, their opposing natures will be sealed by a special bond, but one that is threatened by watching eyes, roaming owners and a misunderstanding world.

A glittering gem of a novel, as spell-binding as it is compelling, The Golem and The Djinni asks us what we're made of and how we can break free.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007480197
Number of pages: 656
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 41 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

`By far my favourite book of of the year ... There isn't a wasted word, poorly considered paragraph or a single chapter in this high-concept fairytale that doesn't deliver some new enchantment' Damien Walter, Guardian

`The Golem and The Djinni has the detailed realism of historical fiction, the haunting feel of a folk tale, and is one of only two novels I've ever loved whose main characters are not human' Barbara Kingsolver

`The author makes you care enough about the humanity of these magical spirits to not only see them through to the end but also to regret that you've reached the last page' New York Times

`A continuous delight - provocative, atmospheric, and superbly paced' Boston Globe

`The Golem and The Djinni are among my favourite fictional people' Washington Post

You may also be interested in...

The Golem and the Djinni
Added to basket
Lady Gregory's Complete Irish Mythology
Added to basket
The Odyssey of Homer
Added to basket
The Saga of the Volsungs
Added to basket
The Greek Myths
Added to basket
The Mists of Avalon
Added to basket
Mabinogi, The
Added to basket
£19.99
Hardback
The Once and Future King
Added to basket
Over Nine Waves
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Planet Narnia
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Vinland Sagas
Added to basket
The Girl Who Married A Lion
Added to basket
Le Morte Darthur
Added to basket
The Odyssey
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales
Added to basket
£17.99
Leather / fine binding

Reviews

View all

“Wonderful cross-genre story”

A wonderful story of two outsiders coming to turn-of-the-century New York. Chava is a Golem, made from clay to be a perfect wife, and Ahmad is a Djinni, trapped long ago in a flask by a wizard. But when Chava's... More

Hardback edition
7th July 2013
Helpful? Upvote 53

“A magical creation!”

An utterly absorbing fable of old magic re-emerging at the turn of the 20th century amongst the bustling streets of migrants making their new homes in New York. This is a tale, not just of a Djinni and a Golem, but... More

Paperback edition
19th March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 52

“A Meeting of Myths”

This is a good, well plotted and inventive story but it felt like something was missing. There was no spark, no wow factor that kept me engrossed and needing to read just one more chapter. It’s marketed as perfect for... More

Hardback edition
27th October 2013
Helpful? Upvote 41

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.