The Goldfish Boy (Paperback)
  • The Goldfish Boy (Paperback)

The Goldfish Boy (Paperback)

3 Reviews Write your review
£6.99 £5.49
Paperback Published: 05/01/2017
  • Save £1.50
  • 10+ in stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket

A story about finding friendship when you're lonely and hope when all you feel is fear.

Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business.

That is, until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour's toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing.

Now Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy's disappearance – with a little help from a surprising and brilliant cast of supporting characters.

Full of heart and a genuine and honest confrontation of some of the ways in which life can be hard to handle, this is a story about the courage it takes to face your fears and learn to live with them. Page-turning and heart-breaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder.

It is a book that will make you think about everything there is to discover, just waiting beyond your front door.

‘A genuinely clever mystery.’  - Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike

‘A great cast of characters and an intriguing mystery - I loved it!’ - Ross Welford, author of Time Travelling with a Hamster

Publisher: Scholastic
ISBN: 9781407170992

9-12 Years Book Club

9-12 Years Book Club

Boston
Wednesday 8th February 16:00 - 17:00

This month we will be reading 'The Goldfish Boy' by Lisa Thompson.

View

You may also be interested in...

“OCD through a childs eyes”

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review! I did enjoy this book once the mystery began to unfold.

Matthew is obsessed with cleaning. He washes his hands multiple times a day,... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
3rd January 2017
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Amazing!”

Couldn't put it down. Loved it from the start to the end!

Paperback edition
15th January 2017
Helpful? Upvote 2
Kayleigh at Leamington Spa

“"If you look carefully enough you can see beautiful things in almost anything."”

This absolutely WONDERFUL book is jam-packed with beautiful things from Lisa Thompson's writing style, to the characters and the story; I can't find fault with it! It was touching, thought provoking and kept... More

Paperback edition
8 similar books recommended
20th January 2017
Helpful? Upvote 1

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?


Review us on Trustpilot