• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Goldfish Boy (Paperback)
  • Goldfish Boy (Paperback)
zoom

Goldfish Boy (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99 £5.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 05/01/2017
  • Save £1.00
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2018

Waterstones Children's Book of the Month for January (2017)

A story about finding friendship when you're lonely and hope when all you feel is fear.

Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business.

That is, until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour's toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing.

Now Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy's disappearance – with a little help from a surprising and brilliant cast of supporting characters.

Full of heart and a genuine and honest confrontation of some of the ways in which life can be hard to handle, this is a story about the courage it takes to face your fears and learn to live with them. Page-turning and heart-breaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder.

It is a book that will make you think about everything there is to discover, just waiting beyond your front door.

Publisher: Scholastic
ISBN: 9781407170992
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 203 x 142 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

‘A genuinely clever mystery.’  - Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike

‘A great cast of characters and an intriguing mystery - I loved it!’ - Ross Welford, author of Time Travelling with a Hamster

Meet Lisa Thompson - author of 'The Goldfish Boy' and 'The Light Jar'!

Meet Lisa Thompson - author of 'The Goldfish Boy' and 'The Light Jar'!

Orpington
Wednesday 11th April 11:00 - 12:00

We're very excited to be welcoming bestselling children's author Lisa Thompson to our store for a meet and greet signing this Easter Holiday!

View

You may also be interested in...

Wonder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Time Travelling with a Hamster
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole Aged 13 3/4
Added to basket
The Boy Who Sailed the Ocean in an Armchair
Added to basket
Auggie & Me: Three Wonder Stories
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Mistletoe and Murder
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
snailycanflyy

“"If you look carefully enough you can see beautiful things in almost anything."”

This absolutely WONDERFUL book is jam-packed with beautiful things from Lisa Thompson's writing style, to the characters and the story; I can't find fault with it! It was touching, thought provoking and kept... More

Paperback edition
8 similar books recommended
20th January 2017
Helpful? Upvote 58
Layla H at Bromley

“OCD through a childs eyes”

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review! I did enjoy this book once the mystery began to unfold.

Matthew is obsessed with cleaning. He washes his hands multiple times a day,... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
3rd January 2017
Helpful? Upvote 55

“Goldfish Boy”

DISCLAIMER: I received this copy off of Scholastic as part of their Blogger’s Book Feast. I have chosen to read it and write a review.

The main theme within the book was OCD – a mental illness – with the sufferer... More

Paperback edition
29th January 2017
Helpful? Upvote 45

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.