Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Gods of Gotham (Paperback)
  • The Gods of Gotham (Paperback)
zoom

The Gods of Gotham (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 13/09/2012
  • Publisher reprinting

Temporarily out of stock

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Spectacular' Gillian Flynn. GODS OF GOTHAM is the fantastic first novel in Lyndsay Faye's Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson's The Devil in the Marshalsea.

August 1845 in New York; enter the dark, unforgiving city underworld of the legendary Five Points...

After a fire decimates a swathe of lower Manhattan, and following years of passionate political dispute, New York City at long last forms an official Police Department. That same summer, the great potato famine hits Ireland. These events will change the city of New York for ever.

Timothy Wilde hadn't wanted to be a copper star. On the night of August 21st, on his way home from the Tombs defeated and disgusted, he is plotting his resignation, when a young girl who has escaped from a nearby brothel, crashes into him; she wears only a nightdress and is covered from head to toe in blood. Searching out the truth in the child's wild stories, Timothy soon finds himself on the trail of a brutal killer, seemingly hell bent on fanning the flames of anti-Irish immigrant sentiment and threatening chaos in a city already in the midst of social upheaval. But his fight for justice could cost him the woman he loves, his brother and ultimately his life...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755386765
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 294 g
Dimensions: 197 x 136 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The launch of a brilliant new mystery series, set in 1845 New York City: Irish Potato Famine, the birth of the police force, brothels and bedlam -- Gillian Flynn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Gone Girl
[An] excellent historical about NYC in the 1840s and the establishment of the NYPD -- Lee Child
A wonderful book. Lyndsay Faye's command of historical detail is remarkable and her knowledge of human character even more so. I bought into this world and never once had the desire to leave * Michael Connelly *
Executed with brio and packed with pungent historical detail...this is a cracking yarn * Daily Mail *
The Gods of Gotham' is a wonderful book. Lyndsay Faye's command of historical detail is remarkable and her knowledge of human character even more so. I bought into this world in the opening pages and never once had the desire to leave. It's a great read! * Michael Connelly *
Lyndsay Faye's exquisite new novel, The Gods of Gotham, plunges us into the teeming, sordid streets of Old New York...a raucous underworld of criminals and chiselers, the infamous Five Points, where thieves speak their own argot... In this vivid and impeccably crafted adventure, newly minted 'copper star' Timothy Wilde is the only man who can solve a series of gruesome murders. Faye's prose crackles with historical authenticity so cunningly rendered that readers will lose themselves from the very first turn of the page * Katherine Howe, New York Times Bestselling author of THE PHYSICK BOOK OF DELIVERANCE DANE *
Lyndsay Faye is a superstar caliber writer. She confidently and exquisitely recreates the past while her characters live on with you in the present, the elusive gold standard for a historical novel. The Gods of Gotham is a gift to the genre that readers will surely reslish while we wait for Faye's next one * Matthew Pearl *
Penetrating psychological study, flawless social history, beautifully crafted thriller... The Gods of Gotham is all these things, and a crackling great yarn to boot. Old New York has never been so blazingly alive. Lyndsay Faye is a writer to watch - and keep watching... * Louis Bayard, author of SCHOOL OF NIGHT *
Reading The Gods of Gotham is like being magically transported to another time. You'll be overwhelmed with the sights, sounds, smells and chaos of New York in the 1840s while never losing sight of the fact that this is a first-rate crime novel for any era. I can't wait to see what Lyndsay Faye will conjure next * Otto Penzler, THE MYSTERIOUS BOOKSHOP *
Intriguingly complex yet deliciously smooth, The Gods of Gotham is, in a word, stunning. The vivid characters and deft use of the historical setting read like the work of an established writer at the top of her (or indeed, his) career - that Faye is a newcomer is cause for an exuberance of fireworks, at the mere thought of so many superb novels yet to come * Laurie R. King, New York Times bestselling author of THE GOD OF THE HIVE and THE BEEKEEPER'S APPRENTICE *
The Gods of Gotham blew me away. Unflinching and bold, creative and dazzling cinematic, nineteenth century New York is still alive * Laura Caldwell, author of LONG WAY HOME *
'A wonderful book. Lyndsay Faye's command of historical detail is remarkable and her knowledge of human character even more so. I bought into this world and never once had the desire to leave' * Michael Connelly *
'Executed with brio and packed with pungent historical detail...this is a cracking yarn' * Daily Mail *
'The Gods of Gotham succeeds on many levels: as a colourful, crackling evocation of an underworld packed with desperados; as an unflinching glance into the history of some of New York's shadiest and most shameful corners; and as a cleverly crafted crime story with a central character who deserves a new case, and another book' * Metro *
'The dangerous underworld of New York in the mid-nineteenth century... wonderfully vivid and vigorous' * The Sunday Times *
'This is special...The historical detail is impressive in a character-driven tale spotted with an underground language called Flash, which is fascinating. Stunning... highly recommended' * Sarah Broadhurst, 'Ones to Watch' Paperback Preview, Bookseller *
'The slums of 19th-century New York... [a] rollicking historical novel...with vibrant characters' * New York Times *

You may also be interested in...

Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The White Princess
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The King's Curse
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A great second book”

When I read that the story was set in the criminal and poverty-stricken Five Points I was looking forward to reading a story packed with the newly formed police department fighting against the gangs and corruption of... More

Paperback edition
18th March 2012
Helpful? Upvote 40

“simply wilde”

beautiful and well studied book about new york in the 1800,s. The copper stars and timothy wilde lead us on a flash adventure into the criminal underbelly of new york. From five points to harlam the book is filled... More

Paperback edition
19th April 2012
Helpful? Upvote 27

“A new and entertaining star”

The story takes place in 1850's New York at the inception of the NYPD and when the great potato famine resulted in in influx of immigrants from Ireland
Lyndsay Faye creates a scenario of poverty, lawlessness and... More

Paperback edition
12th March 2012
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.