The Glittering World: A Book Club Recommendation! (Hardback)
  • The Glittering World: A Book Club Recommendation! (Hardback)
zoom

The Glittering World: A Book Club Recommendation! (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 12/02/2015
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
When up-and-coming chef Michael "Blue" Whitley returns with three friends to the remote Canadian community of his birth, it appears to be the perfect getaway from New York. He soon discovers, however, that everything he thought he knew about himself is a carefully orchestrated lie. Though he had no recollection of the event, as a young boy Blue and another child went missing for weeks in the idyllic, mysterious woods of Starling Cove. Soon thereafter, his mother suddenly fled with him to America, their homeland left behind.

But then Blue begins to remember. And once the shocking truth starts bleeding back into his life, his closest friends-Elisa, his former partner in crime; her stalwart husband, Jeremy; and Gabe, Blue's young and admiring co-worker-must unravel the secrets of Starling Cove and the artists' colony it once harboured. All four will face their troubled pasts, their most private demons, and a mysterious race of beings that inhabits the land, spoken of by the locals only as the Other Kind...

Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781476774527
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 397 g
Dimensions: 210 x 135 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"As imaginative and frightening as a whole gallery of surrealist paintings come luridly to life." -- John Berendt, author of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
"A luscious, compelling tangle of a thriller. The Glittering World maps the realms of friendship and identity, the mythic and the contemporary. I loved it." -- Kelly Link, author of Magic for Beginners
"Fast paced, yet it also succeeds as a reflective tale of self-discovery...Well crafted, atmospheric, and whimsical, this will attract readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman and Mark Z. Danielewski." * Library Journal *
"The Glittering World is a stunning phantasmagoria drawn from the world just beneath the surface, aswarm with great and memorable characters and a plot that twists and turns as it hurtles forward. A grand debut. One taste, and you'll be addicted." -- Keith Donohue, author of The Stolen Child
"Levy's first novel is confident, brave, and beautiful in every way, with resonant warmth and an understanding of the fundamentally singular human experience." * Shelf Awareness *
"Emotionally complex... Levy's atmospherics are all encompassing, and fantastic. A darkly romantic, lovely, sometimes horrifying, and yes, glittering read." * My Bookish Ways *
"Frightening and supernatural . . . the imaginative plot is first rate." * Suspense Magazine *
"Robert Levy spins a dark and mythic tale. Exquisitely allegorical, this novel seethes with menace, romance, and mystery. The Glittering World is a powerful debut." -- Laird Barron, author of The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All
"Robert Levy's transcendent first novel balances on the knife-edge between psychological horror and mainstream thriller - [it] deserves a place beside that of Peter Straub, Graham Joyce, and Mark. Z. Danielewski." -- Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss
"Imagine True Blood crossed with Margaret Atwood. As seductive, fantastical, and menacing as any modern supernatural classic." -- Scott Cheshire, author of High as the Horses' Bridles
"The Glittering World is that rare and wonderful kind of book that takes something old and makes it new again. Like those who disappear into the woods in this novel, once you step into these lush and mysterious pages, be prepared to return to your own world altered." -- Christopher Barzak, author of One for Sorrow
"The Glittering World is that rare thing: A literary novel that reads like a thriller. A fairy tale for the modern era." -- Joanna Rakoff, author of My Salinger Year

You may also be interested in...

Those People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Big Sky
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
No One Home
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
All That's Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Secret Service
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Perfect Wife
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Knife
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Man Who Didn't Call
Added to basket
The Border
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.