The Glass Republic: The Skyscraper Throne Book 2 - Skyscraper Throne (Paperback)
  • The Glass Republic: The Skyscraper Throne Book 2 - Skyscraper Throne (Paperback)
zoom

The Glass Republic: The Skyscraper Throne Book 2 - Skyscraper Throne (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 31/07/2014
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Marks the appearance of a powerful new imagination in SF' Guardian

In the gripping sequel to The City's Son, Pen returns to London-Under-Glass when her mirror sister - and biggest secret - is abducted. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere.

Pen's life is all about secrets: the secret of the city's spirits, deities and monsters that live just beyond notice, the secret of how she got the intricate scars that disfigure her so cruelly - and the most closely guarded secret of all: Parva, her mirror-sister, forged from her reflection in a school bathroom mirror and the only person who really understands her.

When Parva is abducted, Pen is forced to make a terrible bargain for the means to track her down, for in London-Under-Glass, looks are currency, and Pen's scars make her a rare and valuable commodity. Kept company by the pretty and fierce steeplejill, Espel, Pen isn't completely alone, but some in the reflected city will do anything to keep her from the secret of what happened to the sister who shared her face.

The Glass Republic is the gripping sequel to The City's Son, and the second book of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781780870137
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 298 g
Dimensions: 197 x 147 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A powerful new imagination in SF * Guardian on The City's Son *
Hugely inventive in his world-building . . . following in the tradition of authors like Neil Gaiman and China Mieville * SFX on The City's Son *
One of speculative fiction's most promising new voices - it's such an unfettered success that the concluding volume of the Skyscraper Throne saga can't come soon enough * Tor.com *
A impeccably dark parable, endlessly inventive and utterly compelling * Mike Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts on The City's Son *
Vivid, inventive - and truly weird * Daily Mail on The City's Son *
Gorgeously written and brimming with bizarre urban creatures, this darkly imagined and sometimes painful tale should delight fans of Neil Gaiman, China Mieville, and Holly Black * Publishers Weekly, Starred Review on The City's Son *
Pollock's immersive world is easy to get into and once there, you just don't want to leave . . . An excellent novel which reinvigorates urban fantasy as a genre * Upcoming4.me *
Manages to push the boundaries of imagination and innovation with every page. Beautifully written, wildly imaginative and surprisingly emotional, The Glass Republic continues an exciting new phase in urban fantasy that's being powered by one author alone * Fantasy Book Review *
Five stars isn't enough ... This series has so far been a stellar example of what good YA, and good urban fantasy, should be * Over the Effing Rainbow *
The Glass Republic is even better. Building successfully on the promise shown by its predecessor, it's just great from beginning to end * The Eloquent Page *

You may also be interested in...

Empress of the Fall
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
Marked
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Foundryside
Added to basket
Knight's Shadow
Added to basket
The Hidden People
Added to basket
Rotherweird
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Triumph of the Dwarves
Added to basket
Ascendant's Rite
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Only Ever Yours
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
City of Blades
Added to basket
Righteous Fury
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Language of Dying
Added to basket
Wyntertide
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Spoonbenders
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Mage's Blood
Added to basket
£10.99   £7.99
Paperback
Unholy War
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.