The Girls of Summer (Paperback)
  • The Girls of Summer (Paperback)
zoom

The Girls of Summer (Paperback)

(author)
? RRP £8.99
£7.49
Save £1.50 (17%)
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 23/05/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A captivating, sinister read perfect for fans of My Dark Vanessa, Bishop's deft psychological thriller sees a woman re-evaluate the romance she enjoyed one golden summer with a much older man.

The explosive and conversation-starting debut from a stunning new talent, exploring themes of consent and power, abuse and victimhood, memory and how victims can reclaim their voices.

The last time Rachel saw the girls, they were teenagers island-hopping in Greece- making friends, finding love. One golden summer.

Now in her thirties, she's never been able to forget the man she fell in love with back then. Even though he is almost twenty years older than her. Even though she hasn't seen him since and she's now married to someone else.

And when she crosses paths with one of the girls, she's confronted with a truth that's much darker than she ever realized.

What really happened to them all that summer?

What if everything she remembers is a lie?

The Girls of Summer is a compulsive and searching exploration of the complicated nature of memory and trauma, power and consent, victimhood and shame.

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9781529177060
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 246 g
Dimensions: 197 x 128 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

It's been a long time since I've read such a compelling debut. Beautifully written, transportive, and thought-provoking, THE GIRLS OF SUMMER sizzles with suspense. It's the book I'll be recommending that all my girlfriends pack for their holidays this summer - Lucy Clarke, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE CASTAWAYS

This startling debut...packs an incredible punch. The dark undertow of an idyllic summer and the lies girls are told and tell themselves are captured with stark, affecting honesty and evocative prose - The Times

Poignant and striking, this coming-of-age novel barrels towards its shocking yet inevitable conclusion and examines the insidious nature of abuse and grooming through the eyes of the victim. - Heat

This debut should be on every summer reading list... THE GIRLS OF SUMMER explores consent, the power discrepancies in relationships, control, and the intoxication of lust in a gripping read that is visceral and raw. Buy it - Glamour

Reminiscent of HBO's hit The White Lotus... The obvious read-alike is My Dark Vanessa, by Kate Elizabeth Russell, and the plot-driven tension will appeal to fans of psychological suspense - Booklist

You may also be interested in...

Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Serpent and the Wings of Night
Added to basket
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Fourth Wing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
One Day
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“Does truth depend on your perspective?”

A beautifully written deeply emotive revisiting of past events and viewing them anew from an adult viewpoint. Familiar contemporary issues considered from present day beliefs change everything for our troubled... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 56

“Beautifully written and a powerful story”

I absolutely loved reading this book! Simply could not put it down! Highly recommend!!!

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6
Karen Byrom

“An intense and thought-provoking summer read”

This is not at all your typical beach read! Told in a dual time frame of then and now, and with sinister overtones from the start, its main theme is not one of romance but of loss of innocence.
Rachel is forced to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: