Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
The Girls of Ennismore: A heart-rending Irish saga (Paperback)
  • The Girls of Ennismore: A heart-rending Irish saga (Paperback)
zoom

The Girls of Ennismore: A heart-rending Irish saga (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 06/04/2017
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

Ireland, 1900. Two girls meet. They are from vastly different worlds, but will be united in friendship through loves, losses and wars. A sweeping, heartrending saga for fans of Diney Costeloe and Rosie Clarke.

It's the early years of the twentieth century, and Victoria Bell and Rosie Killeen are best friends. Growing up in rural Ireland's County Mayo, their friendship is forged against the glorious backdrop of Ennismore House. However, Victoria, born of the aristocracy, and Rosie, daughter of a local farmer, both find that the disparity of their class and the simmering social tension in Ireland will push their friendship to the brink...

Richin authentic historical and Irish detail, The Girls of Ennismore is a compelling story of love, duty, and reinvention, highlighting the vast rewards - or grave consequences - of following one's heart. Fans of Downton Abbey will devour this sweeping tale. -- Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of The Edge of Lost

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781786490629
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 330 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 29 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
An evocative, heartfelt story of how the bond of female friendship can survive and thrive through adversity. -- KATE KERRIGAN, New York Times bestselling author
Richin authentic historical and Irish detail, The Girls of Ennismore is a compelling story of love, duty, and reinvention, highlighting the vast rewards - or grave consequences - of following one's heart. Fans of Downton Abbey will devour this sweeping tale. -- Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of The Edge of Lost
A definite 'must read' for all of us who love sagas -- BookBag
An engaging narrative of class differences, sibling entanglements... finding home, finding love, all set against the turbulent 1916 Easter Uprising in Ireland... A complex and enjoyable read. -- Susan Vreeland
A captivating portrayal of life in Ireland - above and below stairs - during the years leading up to the Great War and the Irish rebellion. Engaging, atmospheric and packed with rich historical detail, I thoroughly enjoyed The Girls of Ennismore. -- Hazel Gaynor
Patricia Falvey tells the story of some of Ireland's most turbulent year through the lives of two very different women, who are intimately connected. Exciting and moving. -- Mary Pat Kelly
Patricia Falvey's lovely and deeply romantic novel is more than a finely detailed and well researched chronicle of the tumultuous and sweeping social changes in Ireland at the turn of the last century. It is a richly imagined story of two friends - one woman born to wealth and privilege, the other born in poverty and facing a life of servitude - whose abiding friendship proves stronger than blood ties, an unforgiving class system, and even the ravages of war. -- Kathleen Kent, author of The Heretic's Daughter

You may also be interested in...

A Life's Music
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Four Swans
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Jeremy Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Hide Her Name
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Angry Tide
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Black Moon
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Four Streets
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Warleggan
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Stranger From The Sea
Added to basket
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
Casting Off
Added to basket
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Citadel
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader

“Great historical novel!”

The Girls of Ennismore by Patricia Falvey is set in Ireland in June of 1900. Rosie Killeen is eight years old and is earning a little extra money by helping at the Ennis estate or as the locals call it the “big... More

Paperback edition
14th April 2017
Helpful? Upvote 40

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.