The Girl Who Reads on the Metro (Hardback)
  • The Girl Who Reads on the Metro (Hardback)
zoom

The Girl Who Reads on the Metro (Hardback)

(author), (translator)
£12.99
Hardback 208 Pages / Published: 17/10/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The Girl Who Reads on the Metro is the French phenomenon by Christine Feret-Fleury ready to charm book-lovers everywhere, for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

When Juliette takes the metro to her loathed office job each morning, her only escape is in books - she avidly reads on her journey and imagines what her fellow commuters' choices might say about them.

But when, one day, she decides to alight the train a few stops early and meets Soliman - the mysterious owner of the most enchanting bookshop Juliette has ever seen - she is sure her life will never be the same again . . .

For Soliman also believes in the power of books to change the course of a life - entrusting his passeurs with the task of giving each book to the person who needs it most - and he thinks Juliette is perfect for the job.

And so, leaving her old life behind, Juliette will discover the true power a book can have . . .

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509868339
Number of pages: 208
Weight: 290 g
Dimensions: 207 x 139 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An enchanting story made of literary references that would convince anyone to become a reader, even the most reluctant ones. * Avantages *
A delightful novel! * Madame Figaro *
A beautiful tale, wonderfully crazy, for everyone who likes to end a book with a smile on their face. * Lire *
A charming, cheery read crammed with literary references that will delight book lovers and Paris passionnes alike. * France Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Book lovers book...”

If you love the quirky, lovely film Amelie, you will love this modern homage to books and book lovers. Juliette with her ordinary life and her extraordinary fellow travelers on the metro, comes across a second hand... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 48
Nicole @hemelwstones

“The Best Books Are Given”

This is a quirky little gift of a read.
Juliette works at an estate agents. On the train every day she reads, but mainly watches the other passengers and what they are reading. What might their lives be like and... More

Hardback edition
10 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 36

“A book lovers book!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy,
I just had to read it the first night from cover to cover!
Having been a fan of The Reader on the 6.27 & The Little Paris Bookshop it was clear this book was... More

Hardback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 35

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.